Brazill, Murphy & Dawson set for Mullingar Scratch Trophy

Bernie McGuire

The Mullingar Scratch Trophy is set to benefit from the staging of the AIG Irish Close at The European Club a few days prior with a strong field expected to travel to Mullingar for the weekend (11-12 August) tournament.


The 56th staging of the prestigious Sherry Fitzgerald Davitt & Davitt Mullingar Scratch Trophy takes place on August 11 & 12, three days after the AIG Irish Close finishes at the Brittas Bay venue and Robin Dawson (Tramore), the current Flogas Irish Amateur Open Champion was the first player to commit.


Others that have committed to play include West of Ireland champion Robert Brazill, John Murphy who recently won the St Andrews Links Trophy, Colm Campbell, Paul Cutler and Alex Gleeson alongside Irish Boys champion Adam Smith.

Mullingar’s Albert Lee said, “We are really looking forward to welcoming all the players to the 56th consecutive staging of the Mullingar Scratch Trophy and very grateful to Sherry Fitzgerald Davitt & Davitt for coming on board as sponsors again this year.”

First played in 1963, when Joe Carr triumphed, the list of past winners is a who’s who of Irish golf with the likes of Tom Craddock, Des Smyth, Philip Walton, Paul McGinley, Darren Clarke, Pádraig Harrington, Rory McIlroy and Shane Lowry all getting their names on the famous silver cup over the years.

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.