Grant and Murray lead after tough opening day at Co. Louth

Bernie McGuire

Paula Grant (Lisburn) and Lauren Murray (Delgany) opening scores of 79 to share the lead at the Irish Women’s Open Stroke Play Championship in Co. Louth.

In winds that gusted up to 65 km/h at one point, it is hard to believe that level par would have left you just outside the top 20 on this day last year on the same course. “That’s links golf for you” remarked one supporter.

The Irish Women’s Open Stroke Play Championship will be held at Co. Louth for the next 4 years has honoured two legends of the game in Clarrie Reddan and Philomena Garvey. Reddan and Garvey dominated during their amateur careers, and although there was no Open Stroke Play at the time, they boast 16 Irish Close Championships and 8 GB&I Curtis Cup team appearances between them.


While Grant, who will travel later this month to represent GB&I at the Curtis Cup Matches, carded three birdies during her first round. Murray included 5 birdies and despite opening and closing with double bogies, she sits alongside Grant in pole position heading into the weekend.

Scores :
79 L Murray (Delgany); P Grant (Lisburn)
80 C Royston (South Africa); J Ryan (Wales)
81 B Bjornsdottir (Iceland); H McCook (Scotland); C McGinty (England); C Gainer (England); R Meekers (Netherlands); S Lamb (England)
82 S Byrne (Douglas); E Corcoran (Grange); K Dwyer (Rossmore); C Goadby (Scotland)
83 E Lewis (England); M Giles (England)
84 E Forbes (Royal Portrush); L Temple  Lang (Elm Park); C Whitehead (England); K Lanigan (Hermitage); E Briggs (Scotland)
85 K O’ Neill (Douglas); G Batty (Scotland); A Sawyer (England); L Walsh (Castlewarden); J Browne (Kilkenny); L Jones (Wales); C Manzalini (Italy)
86 D Harry (Wales); S Burke (Ballinrobe); O Purfield-Goulding (Co Louth); E Healey (England); J Ross (Clandeboye); O Kelly (Wales); D Smith (Co. Louth); G Allman (England)
87 L Bramwell (Wales); G Carr (Milltown)
88 B Coulter (Kirkistown Castle); C Leathem (England); F Tynan (Wales)
89 V Clancy (Killarney); E Thorne  (Elm Park); K Coey (Clandeboye); M Doyle (The Heath); R Mc Donnell (Elm Park)
90 B Rook (England); L Hillier (Wales); L Simpson (Massereene); C Worby (Wales)
91 B O’Keeffe (England); K O’Connor (Wales); A Nobilio (Italy); J Hall (England); L Belmati (Morocco); A O’Riordan (England); I Holpfer (Austria)
92 R Barton (Wales)
93 A Foster (Elm Park); N Borg (Sweden)
94 D McCooke (Galgorm Castle); S Crowe (Naas); A Fanali (Italy)
95 L Masding (Old Conna); S Burke (Mullingar)
97 G Price (England)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.