GB&I teams selected for Junior Vagliano and Jacques Léglise trophies

Marina Joyce-Moreno (Photo by Jan Kruger/R&A/R&A via Getty Images)

The Great Britain and Ireland teams have been selected to contest the Junior Vagliano Trophy and the Jacques Léglise Trophy at Blairgowrie later this month.

The junior team matches between GB&I and the Continent of Europe are being held at the Perthshire venue on 26 and 27 August.

The Junior Vagliano Trophy


England’s Amelia Wan, who reached the quarter-finals of the R&A Girls’ Amateur Championship at Carnoustie, is among those included in the Junior Vagliano Trophy side, as well as Spain-based Marina Joyce Moreno, who is representing Ireland.

The GB&I team for the Junior Vagliano Trophy is as follows:

  • Grace Crawford, West Links Junior, Scotland
  • Rosie Bee Kim, Buckinghamshire, England
  • Marina Joyce Moreno, Club de Golf Llavaneras, Ireland
  • Isla McDonald-O’Brien, Shrewsbury, England
  • Amelia Wan, Sherwood Forest, England
  • Maggie Whitehead, Close House, England

First reserve: Roisin Scanlon, Woburn, Ireland
Second reserve: Olivia Costello, Roscommon, Ireland

The Junior Vagliano Trophy, the under-16 girls’ match, was first played in 2011 with the Continent of Europe winning all six editions so far.

The players will follow in the footsteps of the likes of Solheim Cup stars Georgia Hall, Charley Hull and Emily Pedersen who have all formerly competed in the match.

The Junior Vagliano Trophy has historically been played biennially alongside the Vagliano Trophy but is now played every year – in even years staged with the Jacques Léglise Trophy, and in odd years with the Vagliano Trophy.

The Jacques Léglise Trophy

Scotland’s Connor Graham, winner of the R&A Junior Open last month, is included in the GB&I Jacques Léglise Trophy team to compete on his home course, alongside compatriot Niall Shiels Donegan, who was the only player to emerge with a 100% record from his six matches in the recent R&A Boys’ Home Internationals.

The GB&I team for the Jacques Léglise Trophy is as follows:

  • Josh Berry, Doncaster, England
  • Connor Graham, Blairgowrie, Scotland
  • Josh Hill, Trump International Dubai, England
  • Frank Kennedy, Trump National Jupiter, England
  • Oliver Mukherjee, Gullane, Scotland
  • Dylan Shaw-Radford, Huddersfield, England
  • Niall Shiels Donegan, Meadow Club, Scotland
  • Harley Smith, The Rayleigh Club, England
  • Tyler Weaver, Bury St Edmunds, England

First reserve: Sam Easterbrook, Olton, England
Second reserve: Caolan Burford, Rhuddlan, Wales

The Jacques Léglise Trophy, the annual under-18 boys’ match, was first played in 1958. The Continent of Europe is bidding to secure a third straight victory in the match for the first time after victories at Aldeburgh, England in 2019 and Falsterbo, Sweden in 2021.

A number of high-profile players have also competed on both sides of the match in the past including José María Olazábal, Luke Donald, Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood and Viktor Hovland.

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.