Irish teams named for R&A Home Internationals

John Shortt

Woodhall Spa

The teams to represent Ireland at the 2021 R&A Home Internationals have been announced.

Woodhall Spa, the home of England Golf, will stage the Girls’, Boys’, Women’s, Women’s Senior and Men’s Senior Home Internationals from 4-6 August 2021.

The Women’s team includes the six players that featured for Ireland at the European Amateur Team Championships earlier this month in Royal County Down. Sara Byrne (Douglas), Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle), Aine Donegan (Lahinch), Anna Foster (Elm Park), Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) and Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) will be joined by Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little). Past-international and Women’s Senior Amateur Champion Laura Webb (East Berkshire) will Captain the side.


The Boys’ team will be made up of Galway Bay duo Luke Cunningham and Adam Challoner, Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle), Darcy Hogg (Belvoir Park), Patrick Keeling (Roganstown), Alex King (Faithlegg), Thomas Higgins (Roscommon) and Gavin O’Neill (Malahide). Knock’s Alasdair Gibson will Captain the team, with Stephen Hood acting as Coach.

The Girls’ team will be represented by Olivia Costello (Roscommon), Emma Fleming (Elm Park), Rebekah Gardner (Clandeboye), Anna Dawson (Tramore), Katie Poots (Knock) and Caitlin Shippam (Ballykisteen). Royal County Down’s Anita McCaw will Captain the team at Woodhall Spa, with Chris Jelly as team Coach.

Eight players will feature in the Women’s and Men’s Senior teams. Irish Senior Women’s Close Champion Carol Wickham (Laytown and Bettystown) will be joined by Deirdre Smith (Co. Louth), Gertie McMullen (The Island) and Gail Linter (Belvoir Park). Royal Belfast’s Marilyn Henderson will Captain the Women’s Senior team.

Irish Senior Men’s Close Champion Karl Bornemann (Douglas), Jim Carvill (Banbridge), Philip Purdy (Shandon Park) and John O’Brien (Castlemartyr) complete the Men’s Senior team. Tralee’s Michael Coote will captain the side.

All five teams will travel to England, with the Home Championships taking place between 4-6 August.

Women’s Team
Sara Byrne (Douglas)

Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)

Aine Donegan (Lahinch)

Anna Foster (Elm Park)

Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little)

Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)

Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Captain: Laura Webb (East Berkshire)


Boys’ Team
Luke Cunningham (Galway Bay)

Adam Challoner (Galway Bay)

Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle)

Darcy Hogg (Belvoir Park)

Patrick Keeling (Roganstown)

Alex King (Faithlegg)

Thomas Higgins (Roscommon)

Gavin O’Neill (Malahide)

Captain: Alasdair Gibson (Knock)

Coach: Stephen Hood


Girls’ Team
Olivia Costello (Roscommon)

Emma Fleming (Elm Park)

Rebekah Gardner (Clandeboye)

Anna Dawson (Tramore)

Katie Poots (Knock)

Caitlin Shippam (Ballykisteen)

Captain: Anita McCaw (Royal County Down)

Coach: Chris Jelly


Senior Men’s Team
Karl Bornemann (Douglas)

Jim Carvill (Banbridge)

Philip Purdy (Shandon Park)

John O’Brien (Castlemartyr)

Captain: Michael Coote (Tralee)


Senior Women’s Team 

Deirdre Smith (County Louth)

Gertie McMullen (The Island)

Carol Wickham (Layton & Bettystown)

Gail Linter (Belvoir Park)

Captain: Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

5 responses to “Irish teams named for R&A Home Internationals”

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.