International and Interprovincial Team Officials confirmed

John Carroll (Irish Team Captain) on the 4th during Round 3 of the Munster Stroke Play Championship 2020, Cork Golf Club, Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland. 06/09/2020 Picture: Golffile | Thos Caffrey

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The Golf Ireland Officials to captain, manage and select the International and Interprovincial teams in 2021 have been confirmed. 

Twenty-four interprovincial and twenty-three international volunteer positions are required to oversee the preparation, performance and organisation of the various teams who will represent Ireland, Connacht, Leinster, Munster and Ulster over the coming months.  

The Underage Interprovincial Matches are set to take place at Mount Wolseley from July 19 – 22 while the Men’s and Women’s Interprovincial Matches will be held at Shannon Golf Club from August 25 – 27. This year will be the first time that the male and female matches will be held concurrently at the same venues.  

Golf Ireland are planning for the full schedule of events to go ahead as planned, however changes to team sizes may be made dependent on the on-going Covid-19 restrictions in place.   

With so many international events postponed in 2020, the officials due to travel with the Women’s, Men’s and Boys’ Irish teams last year have carried over their duties to the same events this year. However, Golf Ireland has recruited two officials to fill the vacancies for Irish Girls’ Team Captain and Manager, with Anita McCaw and Mandy McEvoy being appointed respectively.  

The European Team Championships will be hosted from 6 – 10 July with Irish Teams travelling to Sweden (Men’s), Royal County Down (Women’s), Denmark (Boys’) and the Netherlands (Girls’).  

The Home International Matches will be played from August 4-6 at Woodhall Spa (Women’s, Boys’ and Girls’) while the men’s postponed matches will be played later in September.  

Full list of Golf Ireland Team Officials:  

Golf Ireland Selection Criteria 

Men’s: Captain, John Carroll (Bandon), Niall MacSweeney (Athenry), Michael Delany (Laytown & Bettystown), Kevin Murray (Tramore), John McKinstry (Cairndhu) 

Women’s: Captain, Laura Webb (East Berkshire), Naoimh Quigg (City of Derry), Helen Jones (Royal Portrush) 

Boys’: Captain, Alasdair Gibson (Knock), Jimmy Duggan (Galway), Kevin Raftery (Forrest Little), Peter English (Limerick), Peter Waddell (Knock) 

Girls’: Captain, Anita McCaw (RCDL) and Manager, Mandy McEvoy (Bangor), Naoimh Quigg (City of Derry) 

Senior Men’s: Captain, Michael Coote (Tralee), Matt Donohue (Portumna), Barry Doyle (Carlow), Sean O’Leary (Mahon), Brian Hutchinson (Donaghadee). 

Senior Women’s: Captain, Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast), Valerie Hassett (Ennis/Lahinch), Mary McKenna (Donabate) 



  • Men’s Captain, Damien Coyne (Tuam)
  • Men’s Manager, Cathal McConn (Roscommon)
  • Women’s Captain, Regina Power (Ballinasloe)
  • Women’s Manager, Marie Carr (Athenry)
  • Boys’ Captain, Tony Slevin (Loughrea)
  • Boys’ Manager, John MacDonagh (Castlebar)
  • Girls’ Captain, Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook)
  • Girls’ Manager, Anne Fahy (Portumna)
  • Boys’ U16 Captain, Martin Hynes (Athenry)
  • Boys’ U16 Manager, Rory O’Connor (Strandhill)
  • Boys’ U14 Captain, John Waters (Oughterard)
  • Boys’ U14 Manager, Shane Francis (Galway Bay) 


  • Men’s Captain, Seamus McParland (Greenore)
  • Men’s Manager, Kevin McIntyre (Ardee)
  • Women’s Captain, Una Marsden (Tullamore)
  • Women’s Manager, Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny)
  • Boys’ Captain, John Cullen (Enniscorthy)
  • Boys’ Manager, Dave Parle (Woodenbridge)
  • Girls’ Captain, Brenda Craig (Roganstown)
  • Girls’ Manager, Paula Murray (Naas)
  • Boys’ U16 Captain, Thos Hennessy (Carlow)
  • Boys’ U16 Manager, Jack Dempsey (Malahide)
  • Boys’ U14 Captain, Ger Ennis (Athy)
  • Boys’ U14 Manager, John McGrath (Royal Tara) 


  • Men’s Captain, Michael Coote (Tralee)
  • Men’s Manager, George Mellerick (Fota Island)
  • Women’s Captain, Orla Barry (Limerick)
  • Women’s Manager, Sinead Enright (Macroom)
  • Boys’ Captain, Kevin Murray (Tramore)
  • Boys’ Manager, John Fennessy (Clonmel)
  • Girls’ Captain, Aoife Lowry (Tipperary)
  • Girls’ Manager, Kiara O’Keeffe (Tipperary)
  • Boys’ U16 Captain, Liam Troy (Thurles)
  • Boys’ U16 Manager, Jim Lyne (Glengarriff)
  • Boys’ U14 Captain, Phil Cooney (Lee Valley)
  • Boys’ U14 Manager, Dave Taylor (Muskerry) 


  • Men’s Captain, Gerry McAleese (Royal Portrush)
  • Men’s Manager, John McKinstry (Cairndhu)
  • Women’s Captain, Paula Metcalfe (Malone)
  • Women’s Manager, Fiona Delargy (Cushendall)
  • Boys’ Captain, Tony Cassidy (Dunmurry)
  • Boys’ Manager, Jeff Forde (Tandragee)
  • Girls’ Captain, Barbara Fox (Bangor)
  • Girls’ Manager, Linda Bradshaw (Bangor)
  • Boys’ U16 Captain, Diarmuid Logue (Portsalon)
  • Boys’ U16 Manager, Ciaran Fitzsimons (Ardglass)
  • Boys’ U14 Captain, Damien Montague (Fintona)
  • Boys’ U14 Manager, Trevor Lewers (Portstewart) 

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.