Starting grid ready for Bridgestone finale at the Close

ean Desmond (Monkstown) during practice for the AIG Men’s Irish Close Championship at Rosapenna (Sandy Hills) on Thursday. Courtesy of GUI

There’s no shortage of inspiration for the entire field at this week’s AIG Irish Close with the roll call of past champions a who’s who of Irish golf; names like McDowell, McIlroy and Lowry, all going on to enjoy Major glory on the sport’s grandest stage.

The Sandy Hills layout at Rosapenna will provide a stern test befitting one of Ireland’s most prestigious championships. Measuring a hefty 7,255 yards from the tips, the celebrated modern links is sure to produce a winner worthy of etching their name alongside some of Ireland’s fairway greats.

The only unfortunate thing is that due to continuing Covid-19 restrictions, no spectators will be permitted to watch the drama unfold. Still, the draw has been made and the action can be followed


Full scoring HERE

AIG Men’s Irish Close Championship at Rosapenna (Sandy Hills) 9-11 October 2020

Round One DRAW – Friday 9th October

08:30  James Hewitt (Tandragee) Ian Lynch (Rosslare) Robert Galligan (Elm Park)

08:41  Marc Nolan (Dun Laoghaire) Robbie Hynes (Royal Dublin) David Shiel (Powerscourt)

08:52  Ryan Griffin (Ballybofey & Stranorlar) Paraic McGrath (Cregmore Park) Cathal Butler (Kinsale)

09:03  Eoghan O’Donnell (Tralee) Niall Hearns (Mountrath) Richard McCrudden (Royal Portrush)

09:14  Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) Jack Shellard (Lisburn) Paul Buckley (Cork)

09:25  Conor Ryan (Dun Laoghaire) Andrew Mullholland (Castlerock) David Jnr Marshall (Naas)

09:36  Keith Murphy (Dun Laoghaire) Fergal O’Sullivan (Tralee) Eoin Murphy (Dundalk)

09:47  Andrew Hickey (Galway Bay) Eoin Sullivan (Carton House) Jamie Kelly (Ardee)

09:58  Ruairi O’Connor (Co. Sligo) Keelan McCarthy (Lee Valley) Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle)

10:09  Fionn Hickey (Muskerry) Cathal Nolan (Portmarnock) Peter McKeever (Castle)

10:20  Evan Shipp (Headfort) Simon Walker (Roscommon) Harry Gillivan (Westport)

10:31  Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy) Conor Hickey (Dooks) Dean O’Riordan (Fermoy)

10:42  David Kitt (Athenry) Thomas Hackett (Royal Dublin) Daniel Mulligan (The Links Portmarnock)

10:53  Jonathan Keane (Lahinch) Joe Lyons (Galway) Luke Lynch (Naas)

11:04  Gary Cullen (The Links Portmarnock) Richard Knightly (Royal Dublin) Cian Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown)

11:26  Kyle McCarron (North West) Darcy Hogg (Belvoir Park) Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little)

11:37  Eddie McCormack (Galway) Daniel Holland (Castle) Mel Deasy (Lee Valley)

11:48  Thomas Higgins (Roscommon) Patrick Keeling (Roganstown) Karl Murray (Arklow)

11:59  Evan Farrell (Ardee) Kealan Quigg (Ballyliffin) Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass)

12:10  Robert Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire) Sean Desmond (Monkstown) Harry Duggan (Kilkenny)

12:21  Jake Whelan (Newlands) Keith Egan (Carton House) Rowan Lester (Hermitage)

12:32  Gavin Rochford (Bray) Aaron Ryan (Thurles) Marc Boucher (Carton House)

12:43  Liam Nolan (Galway) Thomas Neenan (Lahinch) Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire)

12:54  Gary Ward (Kinsale) Adam Smith (Mullingar) Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin)

13:05  Darragh Flynn (Carton House) Greg O’Mahony (Fota Island) Sean Downes (Royal Dublin)

13:16  Michael Flanagan (Portumna) Scott Jones (Belvoir Park) David Brady (Co. Sligo)

13:27  Gareth Lappin (Belvoir Park) James Temple (Portmarnock) Robert Moran (Castle)

13:38  Aaron Marshall (Lisburn) Shane O’Connor (Castlebar) Dylan Keating (Seapoint)

13:49  David McAleenon (Edenmore) John Cleary (Elm Park) Ciaran Dunphy (Killeen Castle)

14:00  Matthew McClean (Malone) Rory Milne (Faithlegg) Sam Murphy (Portumna)



Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.