Spanish Point win AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Munster Final

Irish Golfer

Spanish Point’s Patrick Hogan celebrates the winning putt of The AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Final at Fermoy Golf Club, Co. Cork 27/09/2020 Picture: Golffile | Oisin Keniry

Irish Golfer

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

It may have taken an extra 24 hours, but there is a Munster Champion in the AIG Pierce Purcell Shield.

Spanish Point and Kenmare could not be separated after darkness forced the suspension of play in the deciding match in Fermoy. At 8pm, Tournament Director David Prendergast was left with no option after the deciding match was still level after four extra holes, so the teams decided to resume at 4pm on Sunday.

Spanish Point’s Sean McMahon and Patrick Hogan faced Kenmare’s Gerald O’Dwyer and Carlie Vaughan – the players back to recommence the titanic battle that started 25 hours previously.


The match should have been settled on the 21st but Charlie Vaughan holed an excellent long putt across the tricky green. After that the par three 5th was halved in the darkness.  On the resumption of play on Sunday, the two pairs halved the par five 6th hole and it was Spanish Point who won on the 7th, their sixth sudden death hole.

It’s the first time in six years that the Clare club have won the Munster pennant and they will be hoping to repeat the provincial/national double of 2014 when they head for Donegal GC in October for the AIG Cups & Shields national finals.

Full results:

Munster Semi Finals & Final at Fermoy Golf Club, Saturday 26 September


Kevin Hynes/Niall Heaney bt Pearse O’Shea/David O’Dwyer 5/4

Sean McMahon/Patrick Hogan bt Gerald O’Dwyer/Charlie Vaughan 1H on 6th tie hole

Fergal Hehir/Michael Hehir lost to John Maye/Micheal O’Sullivan 1H

Mervin Hehir/Cillian Duggan bt John Guest/Sean O’Regan 6/4

Mike Donnelly/Michael O’Brien lost to Chris Dale/Robin Clifford 1 up


Sean McMahon/Patrick Hogan bt Gerald O’Dwyer/Charlie Vaughan resumed on Sunday 27 September at 4pm with Spanish Point winning on 6th tie hole

Semi-final Results

Spanish Point -v- Cahir Park 8.45am 1st tee

Kevin Hynes/Niall Heaney bt Kevin McGuire/Paddy Farrell 3/2

Seamus McMahon/Michael O’Brien lost to Willie Morrissey/John McGrath 4/3

Fergal Hehir/Michael Hehir bt Thomas Walsh/Barry McCormack5/4

Mervin Hehir/Cillian Duggan bt Christian Healy/John Ryan 7/6

Patrick Hogan/Sean McMahon -v- Donal Mullane/Thomas Kinane called in


East Cork -v- Kenmare 8.45am 10th tee

Jack Hayes/Con Kelleher lost to Pearse O’Shea/David O’Dwyer 20th

Ross Keohane/John Greene lost to Gerald O’Dwyer/Charlie Vaughan 6/5

Paul Cashman/Damian O’Donovan bt Padraig O’Shea/Sean Murphy 7/6

Damien Craven/Hans Baumann bt Dan Lucey/Bosco MacGearailt 2up

Paul O’Donoghue/Tadgh Gilroy lost to Chris Dale/Robin Clifford 1up


Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.