Bridgestone race hots up as GUI announce further incentives at starting grid

Irish Golfer

The four new Irish caps (from left) Robert Brazill, Tom McKibben, Keith Egan and Matthew McClean at the 2019 Home International Matches at Lahinch Golf Club today (10/09/2019). Picture by Pat Cashman

Irish Golfer

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The Golfing Union of Ireland has released its team selection and coaching selection criteria for the 2020 season.

The big news sees consistency being reward with the top 4 on the Bridgestone Order of Merit at year’s end set to earn automatic section to the Home Internationals, up from three places last year.

The 2020 Home Internationals will be played at Royal Dornoch in Scotland where England will be aiming to complete a hat trick of wins. The top three Irish golfers in the World Amateur Golf Rankings will also be picked to compete.

Should a player be unavailable or in the case of the Home Internationals, meet more than one of the automatic selection criteria, the selection will not be transferable and will instead become a Selection Committee Pick.

For example, if one of the top-3 Irish players on WAGR is in the top-4 on the Bridgestone Order of Merit at the time of selection, the automatic pick will not move down to the player placed fifth on the Bridgestone Order of Merit and will instead revert to the Selection Committee.

Coaching Panel Selection Criteria
GUI Selection Criteria – Coaching Panels 2019-20

Team Selection Criteria

Men’s Team Selection Criteria 2020
Boys Team Selection Criteria 2020

Men’s Panel 2020

Robert Brazill (Naas), Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint), Keith Egan (Carton House), Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock), Eanna Griffin (Waterford), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Matthew McClean (Malone), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), ​ John Murphy (Kinsale), Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas), Mark Power (Kilkenny), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow)

Under 18 Panel 2020
Josh Black (Lisburn), Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass), Robert Galligan (Elm Park), Fionn Hickey (Muskerry), Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle), Dylan Keating (Seapoint), Joshua McCabe (Roganstown), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), Sam Murphy (Portumna), Robert Walsh (Kinsale)

Under 16 Panel 2020

Adam Challoner (Galway Bay), Zak Collins (Muskerry), Luke Cunningham (Galway Bay), Fionn Dobbin (Malone), Darcy Hogg (Belvoir Park), Alex King (Faithlegg), Lucas Lyons (Limerick), Sean McLoughlin (Co. Sligo), Aiden O’Carroll (Powerscourt), Gavin O’Neill (Malahide), Morgan O’Sullivan (Ballyneety)​

GUI Provincial and Regional Coaching Panels 20​20

GUI Provincial and Regional Coaching Panels 19-20


Anti Doping Policy and Information

Orders of Merit 2019

Bridgestone Order of Merit (Men) 

Bridgestone Boys

GUI Under 18 (Tom Montgomery Award)

GUI Under 16 (Joe Carr Award)

GUI Under 14 (Michael J Murphy Award)

GUI Seniors (Michael Hennelly Award)

GUI Mid-Amateur Award​

GUI’s Coaching Management Team

Neil Manchip – National Coach

James Corcoran – High Performance Programme Manager

Eamonn O’Flanagan – Leinster HP Lead

Ian Kearney – Connacht HP Lead

Stephen Hood – Ulster HP Lead

Fred Twomey – Munster HP Lead

Ireland Team Captains

John Carroll – Men’s Team Captain

Alasdair Gibson – Boys Team Captain

Kevin Raftery – Under 16 Boys Captain

Michael Coote – Seniors Team Captain

Provincial Leads

Ian Kearney (Connacht)

Eamonn O’Flanagan (Leinster)

Fred Twomey (Munster)

Stephen Hood (Ulster)

Provincial Coaches:

Connacht – Ian Kearney, Xavier Medas, Hugh O’Neill, Keith O’Neill

Leinster – Eamonn O’Flanagan, Paul McCanny, Shane O’Grady, Paul Thompson, Johnny Young

Munster – Michael Collins, Paul Kiely, Ian Stafford, Fred Twomey

Ulster – Shaun Devenney, Seamus Duffy, Johnny Foster, Stephen Hood, Chris Jelly

Strength & Conditioning Coach

Robbie Cannon


Orlaith Buckley & Mary Dowling


Sandra Wilkinson

High Performance Committee

Niall MacSweeney (Convenor), Irish Senior Captain, Irish Boys’ Captain, Convenor Junior Golf, Walker Cup Selector, Martin Hynes, Harry McAlinden, Liam Troy, Roy Archibald

Junior Golf Committee

Peter English (Convenor), Junior Selection Committee, Tony Cassidy, Tony Slevin, Kevin Murray, John McGrath

Junior Selection Committee

Irish Boys’ Captain (Convenor), Jimmy Duggan, Kevin Raftery, Peter English, Peter Waddell

Senior Selection Committee

Irish Senior Captain (Convenor), Niall MacSweeney, Michael Delany, Kevin Murray, John McKinstry

Seniors Selection Committee

Irish Seniors Captain (Convenor), Matt Donohue, Barry Doyle, Sean O’Leary, Brian Hutchinson

Team Ireland Golf

Grant applications & information 


Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.