Fantastic four Irish primed for Jacques Léglise Trophy

Tom McKibbin (Photo: Getty Images)

Holywood’s Tom McKibbin will return to thJacques Léglise Trophy while Galgorm Castle’s Joshua Hill, Lisburn’s Aaron Marshall and Connemara’s Luke O’Neill will make their debuts when play gets underway on Friday. 

All four Irish have been in winning form this year with McKibbin taking the Golden Jacket at the 9th Junior Invitational at Sage Valley, Hill triumphing at the 2019 McGregor Trophy champion, Marshall being the current Irish Boys’ Amateur champion while Luke O’Neill was victorious at the German Boys’ Open. 

Of the nine player team announced by the R&A for the match at Aldeburgh Golf Club in England over Friday and Saturday, four Irish is an incredible return 


Barclay Brown will captain Great Britain and Ireland for a second time while the team will be managed for the third time by Stuart Wilson, who won The Amateur Championship in 2004. GB&I will be looking to defend the Jacques Léglise Trophy after they won 15½ -9½ at Kytäjä Golf in Finland last year. 

Wilson has assembled a strong GB&I team with five players returning from the 2018 winning line-up, including playing captain Barclay Brown who won three of the four matches he was involved in last year. 

Among the newcomers is Benjamin Schmidt who is ranked No.8 in the WAGR and was named as the 1st reserve for the GB&I Walker Cup team.  

The Continent of Europe last won the match in 2017 at Ballybunion after successfully defending the title they won in 2016 at Prince’s. 

For scoring and reports from the matches please visit 

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.