Kennedy & O’Neill set the standard at Irish Boys

Luke O'Neill - Image from Pat Cashman Photography

Royal Dublin’s Max Kennedy and Connemara’s Luke O’Neill lead the way as round two of the Irish Boys Amateur Open Championship got underway this morning.

The teenagers couldn’t be separated after both players fired superb four-under par 68’s at New Forest on day one to gain a one shot advantage over Lisburn’s Aaron Marshall, Knock’s Lee Mitchell and Elm Park’s Robert Galligan.

In-all, 12 players broke par on a fruitful opening day’s scoring in Tyrrellspass but with three rounds left to play, much can and will still happen before a winner is crowned on Friday.


Full Scoring HERE

Round One Scores – Complete – Par 72

68 M Kennedy (Royal Dublin); L O’Neill (Connemara)

69 A Marshall (Lisburn); L Mitchell (Knock); R Galligan (Elm Park)

71 S Doyle (Black Bush); J Egan (Muskerry); M Dhaubhadel (England); S Walker (Roscommon); J McCabe (Roganstown); J Black (Lisburn); A Carroll (Newlands)

72 B Crawford (Greenacres); A Mijic (France); E McArthur (Royal Portrush); F Hickey (Muskerry); J Byrne  (Baltinglass); K Morrison (Holywood); E Sullivan (Carton House); A Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown)

73 T Kelly  (Royal Dublin); D Keating (Seapoint); S Downes (Royal Dublin); R Milne (Faithlegg); A Smith (Mullingar); D Marshall (Naas); D Leufer (Athenry); R McCrory (Lurgan)

74 R Kelliher (Killarney ); D Ford (Co. Sligo); P Keeling (Roganstown ); A Collins (Laytown & Bettystown); C Connell (Newlands); R Carvill (Warrenpoint); P McGrath (Cregmore ); E Prendergast (Claremorris); J Shellard (Lisburn); J Hill (Galgorm Castle); E Freeman (Naas); C Ruddy (Enniscrone)

75 A Dineen (Cork); R Feerick (Mallow); C Harkin (Letterkenny); A Blair (Scrabo); G McKenzie (England); L Cunningham (Galway Bay); E Shipp (Headfort); R Walsh (Kinsale); C MacCanna (Carton House); K McCarthy (Lee Valley); C French (Carton House); C Owen (Wales); G Leigh (England); H Lord (England)

76 M Deasy (Lee Valley); C Collins (Bermuda); P Byrne (Ballybunion); C Rabbette (Esker Hills)

77 M Kernanet (France); D Byrne (Powerscourt); M Duignan (Royal Dublin); M Hopkins (England ); B St John (Portmarnock); M Fitzgibbon (Portmarnock); D Raher (Dungarvan )

78 R Goodall (Royal Portrush); F Hoare (Roscommon); P O’Shea (Kilkenny); S Murphy (Portumna); S West (England); N O’Callaghan (Greenore); P Naughton (Limerick); M McCormack (Mullingar); C Elliott (England); R Howley (USA); J Mackin (Dundalk); K Collins (Douglas)

79 J Rooney (Co. Armagh); E O’Shaughnessy (Muskerry); J Butler (Naas); G Keogh (Galway); M Hayes (Galgorm Castle); G Herlihy (Castle); C Roper (England); R Bather (Wales); J McMaster (Holywood); D Mulligan (The Links Portmarnock); R Cowhey (Elm Park); D McNicholl (Westmanstown)

80 T Stout (Royal Belfast); T Crinion (Howth); A Fraher (Black Bush); R McNelis (Fintona); L Kelly (Belvoir Park); N McDermott (Co. Sligo); T Higgins (Roscommon ); P Ó Dochartaigh (Gweedore); L Abom (Edmondstown); A Westerdijk (England); L Keyes (Dun Laoghaire); D Muldowney (Carton House); J Foley (Elm Park); C O’Connor (Roscommon)

81 B Thomas (Wales); R Reid (Greystones); C McCarthy (USA); R Campbell (Greenacres); V Krause (Germany); C Byrne (Strabane); A Bolger (Castle); S Casey (Hermitage); T Browne (Naas); S Miller (Clandeboye)

82 O Reilly (Newlands); S Collins (Bermuda); N Gaffney (Greystones); M Collins (Bundoran); S Watts (St. Anne’s); S Murtagh (Mullingar)

83 S Kearns (Elm Park); J Nolan (Birr); M Gibson (Knock); M Schulze (Germany); M Troy (Dungarvan); D Behan (Naas)

84 K Connaughton (Roscommon); J Brown (The Heritage)

85 D Cunningham (Tuam); R Davidson (Knock); W O’Halloran (England); D O’Malley (Black Bush)

86 M O’Brien (Elm Park); D Connolly (Castle Dargan); S McDermott (Highfield)

88 J Richardson (England); T Flanagan (Co. Sligo)

89 P Costello (Cregmore Park)

94 C Walsh (Clandeboye)

96 E McGrath (Athlone); M Duggan (Highfield)

RTD S Carpenter (Forrest Little); S Whelan (Royal Tara); S Nohilly (Galway); O Maguire (Slieve Russell)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.