Maguire and Coulter earn European calls for Bonallack and Hankins Trophies

Ronan MacNamara

Beth Coulter (Photo by Tom Dulat/R&A/R&A via Getty Images)

Alex Maguire and Beth Coulter have both received call ups to represent Europe at the Bonallack and Patsy Hankins Trophies in August.

The EGA confirmed the first nine players of the 2023 European Bonallack Trophy team that will take on Asia-Pacific at La Manga Resort, Spain from 3 to 5 August with Maguire the only Irish representative named so far with the remaining three players to be announced after this week’s European Team Championships.

The Bonallack Trophy is a three-day match between the best male amateur players from Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. The contest, which parallels the Ryder Cup format, will take place for the first time in five years after the previous edition was cancelled due to Covid restrictions.


Selection for the team recognizes the players’ outstanding achievements in the amateur game.

Maguire is currently making his European Team Championship debut for Ireland in Royal Waterloo Golf Club in Belgium after a sensational season to date that has seen him defend his East of Ireland crown and win the St Andrews Links Trophy.

The Laytown & Bettystown star has emerged as a hot favourite to play his way onto the Great Britain and Ireland Walker Cup team in September for the biennial contest vs USA in St Andrews.

James Ashfield (WAL)

Barclay Brown (ENG)

John Gough (ENG)

Albert Hansson (SWE)

Tobias Jonsson (SWE)

Frederik Kjettrup (DEN)

Alex Maguire (IRL)

Michael Alexander Mjaaseth (NOR)

Herman Wibe Sekne (NOR)

Also playing at La Manga from 3-5 August is Kirkistown Castle star Coulter and the European team for the Patsy Hankins Trophy.

Coulter’s remarkable consistency has seen her rewarded with a call up after a run to the knockout stages of the Women’s Amateur Championship as well as runner-up finishes at the Irish Women’s Amateur and Close Championships.

Coulter also performed well for GB&I in the recent Vagliano Trophy.

As with the men, the remaining three spots to face Asia-Pacific will be allocated following the conclusion of the European Ladies Team Championship in Finland.

Helen Briem (GER)

Beth Coulter (Golf Ireland)

Savannah De Bock (BEL)

Cayetana Fernandez Garcia-Poggio (ESP)

Francesca Fiorellini (ITA)

Charlotte Heath (ENG)

Meja Örtengren (SWE)

Rocio Tejedo (ESP)

Lottie Woad (ENG)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.