GUI name six-man squad for St Andrews Trophy

John Murphy (Picture: GUI / Golffile)

The Golfing Union of Ireland has named six players in the squad for the upcoming St Andrews Links Trophy, which takes place at the home of golf from 7 to 9 June.

Defending champion John Murphy, a student at the University of Louisville, returns to the scene of his breakthrough victory with the Kinsaleman joined by Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway / MU), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk / MU) and James Sugrue (Mallow) for the trip to St Andrews.

Played over 72 holes of stroke play, round one will be played on the Jubilee Course while the Old Course will stage the second round with the top 40 and ties progressing. On the final day, the players face 36 holes on the Old Course.


Murphy will be hoping for a repeat performance from last year having won a playoff for the title and becoming the third winner from Ireland after Conor O’Rourke in 2016 and Alan Dunbar in 2009.

Ireland captain John Carroll (Bandon) will accompany the squad as manager.

The GUI’s High Performance Programme is supported by Sport Ireland and Sport NI.

GUI Squad – St Andrews Links Trophy, 7-9 June: Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), John Murphy (Kinsale), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow).

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.