Lisburn claim Fred Daly Trophy in Tramore

Bernie McGuire

Lisburn captured the Fred Daly Trophy in dramatic fashion when Jack Shellard scrambled a par to win the decisive point at the 19th hole.

The final was poised at two points apiece during a titanic battle with Connacht champions Galway and all eyes turned to match five where the destination of the title was on the line.
Fittingly for such a closely contested decider, it required an extra hole to find a winner. Shellard had to produce heroics on 18 just to keep the contest alive. Trailing Harry Colbert, Lisburn’s anchor-man eagled the closing par five to square the match.

Below: Lisburn with the Fred Daly Trophy
Lisburn Fred Daly winners1.jpg
The two remaining combatants returned to the first in a bid to settle their encounter. Although Shellard missed the green and left his pitch four paces from the hole, he drained the 12-footer, which rocked Galway and ultimately proved decisive when Colbert missed his putt for par.
Aaron Marshall (1 hole) and Josh Black (4&3) also won points for the Ulster side but wins for Liam Nolan (2&1) and Sean Nohilly (5&4) meant that the final hinged on the bottom match.


Tomorrow, the semi-finals of the Irish Junior Foursomes get underway at 8am with Munster winners Mitchelstown up against Co Sligo and Leinster champions Waterford facing Warrenpoint. The final is scheduled for a 1pm start. Meanwhile, the inaugural Junior Inter-Club All-Ireland is down for decision from 9am.
Fred Daly Trophy Results
Saturday 29 September

Lisburn 3 Galway 2 (Lisburn names first)
Aaron Marshall beat Luke O’Neill 1H; Joshua Robinson lost to Liam Nolan 2&1; Josh Black beat Gavan Keogh 4&3; Kyle Patton lost to Sean Nohilly 5&4; Jack Shellard beat Harry Colbert 19th

Lisburn 4 Dungarvan 1 (Lisburn names first)
Aaron Marshall beat Daniel Raher 5&4; Joshua Robinson beat Jake O’Riordan 3&1; Josh Black beat Michael Troy 4&3; Kyle Patton lost to Barry Morrissey Jnr 5&4; Jack Shellard beat Ethan Raher 6&5

Greystones 1 Galway 4 (Greystones names first)
Niall Gaffney lost to Luke O’Neill 3&1; Ben Hynes lost to Liam Nolan 4&2; Rory Reid lost to Gavan Keogh 6&4; Christopher Lawless halved with Sean Nohilly; Robbie O’Brien halved with Harry Colbert

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.