O’Keeffe fires himself into the lead at The European Club

Bernie McGuire

Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) leads the AIG Irish Close at The European Club by two shots following a superb opening 66 which included three birdies in his final four holes.

The Corkman tops the leaderboard from Marc Norton (Belvoir Park) who returned a round of 68, one shot better than Marc Boucher (Carton House).

The biggest cheer of the day though came for Glasson teenager Conor Glennon who carded his first ever hole in one on the par 3 sixth.


The cut will be made after round two tomorrow when the top 64 players and ties progress to the next round.

66 P O’Keeffe (Douglas)
68 M Norton (Belvoir Park)
69 M Boucher (Carton House)
70 C Purcell (Portmarnock); R O’Connor (Co. Sligo); S Carter (Royal Dublin); R Moran (Castle)
71 C Rafferty (Dundalk); O Devereux (Carton House); R Dutton (Tandragee); G Collins (Rosslare); G Ward (Kinsale)
72 A Smith (Mullingar); J Walsh (Castle); W Small (Tandragee); E Smith (Laytown & Bettystown); R Williamson (Holywood); C Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown); R Mullarney (Galway)
73 J Knipe (Royal Portrush); J Sugrue (Mallow); N Hearns (Mountrath); P Connolly (Killeen Castle); P Coughlan (Castleknock); A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire)
74 J McDonnell (Forrest Little); P McKeever (Castle); M Ryan (New Ross); N McCann (Lurgan); T Ford (Co. Sligo); D Brophy (Castleknock); C Ryan (Dun Laoghaire); H O’Hare (Fortwilliam); R Latimer  (Knock ); R Brazill (Naas); G Lenehan (Portmarnock); A Gleeson  (Castle); J Murphy (Kinsale); D O’Neill (Carton House)
75 R Lester (Hermitage); J Rowe (Tandragee); J McCabe (Roganstown); J Blake (The Island); J Greene (Portmarnock); S Watts (Cairndhu ); M Mullen (Rosslare); J Hickey (Cork); P O’Connor (Macroom); C Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire); M McClean (Malone); C Butler (Kinsale); N Crawford (Mourne); S Walsh (Portmarnock)
76 T Neenan (Lahinch); K Lynch (Skibbereen); K Murphy (Dun Laoghaire); G Cullen (Beaverstown); H Gillivan (Westport); S Irwin (Killeen); J Byrne  (Baltinglass); M McCormack (Moss Creek); E Leonard (Wentworth )
77 H Foley (Royal Dublin); R Steedman (Courtown); C O’Connor (Corrstown); O Crooks (Bushfoot); D Lowry (Corrstown); D Holland (Castle)
78 G Carr (Mullingar); M McKinstry (Cairndhu); R Cannon (Balbriggan); T Plunkett (Crover House); D Flynn (Carton House); A McCormack (Castletroy); P Brennan (Belvoir Park); A Ryan (Thurles); R Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire); J Lyons (Galway)
79 E Griffin (Waterford); S Lindsay (Ardglass); J Fox (Portmarnock); M McHugh (Abu Dhabi National); J Conroy (Portmarnock); M Looby (Greystones); G Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick); M Tyndall (Coyote Creek); G O’Mahony (Fota Island); R McKeever (Castle)
80 P Kerr (Royal Portrush); T Beaumont (Bangor); N Gaffney (Greystones); R Black (Hilton Templepatrick); R Knightly (Royal Dublin); S McDermott (Co. Cavan); S Myatt (Ennis); K Murray (Charlesland); K Stack (Dungarvan); R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire); D Smith  (Newlands); D Crawford (Bundoran); M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire)
81 D Joyce (Powerscourt); J Madden (Royal Portrush); E Goggin (Tralee); E O’Brien (Clontarf); M Buggy (Castlecomer); D Coyle (Portmarnock); L Hutchinson (Royal Dublin); R McCormack (Palmerstown House Estate); J McCarthy (Stackstown)
82 C Feeney (Co. Sligo); M McKenna (Dun Laoghaire); A Crinion (Newlands); J Whelan (Newlands); J Keane (Lahinch); R Pierse (Grange); E Rumley (Kinsale); J Maginn (Mourne)
83 M Burke (Galway); C Dowling (Mallow); I Collins (Bray); J Hanney (The Island); D Pollock (Belvoir Park)
84 E Farrell (Ardee); M Shiel (Galway Bay); S Walsh (Carton House); S Crilly (Wembley (Au)); S Flanagan (Co. Sligo); C Glennon (Glasson)
85 T Collins (Dun Laoghaire); R O’Doherty (Enniscrone); J McGrath (Dun Laoghaire); M Kennelly (Galway Bay)
86 C French (Carton House); M Healy (Kinsale)
87 E McKeever (Castle); C Coghlan (Newlands); S Carroll (Castle Dargan)
88 W Russell (Clandeboye)
90 R Connolly (Grange)
91 J Tuohy (Galway  Bay)
WD L McMillan (Luttrellstown Castle)
RTD D Rochford (Bray)
NR G McGrane (Royal Dublin)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.