It’s down to the serious business at The South of Ireland

Bernie McGuire
Bernie McGuire

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

After the second round of strokeplay qualifying was abandoned on Thursday at the South of Ireland Championship and the results from the first round were declared as final qualifying, it was on to the serious business of matchplay yesterday at Lahinch.

It was another day of testing conditions, though nothing like the torrential downpours which forced the abandonment on Thursday, and we now have our Top 16 who take to the course again this morning to do battle.


R Mullarney (Galway) bt M Reddan (Limerick) 7/6

E Smith (Laytown/B’town) bt J Kehoe (Limerick) 3/2

G Royston (Cotswold Downs LC, South Africa) bt D Brophy (Castleknock) 3/1

P O’Keeffe (Douglas)bt M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire) 2H

J McDonnell (Forrest Little)  bt M Kalfjall (Wasby, Sweeden)  3/2

H Foley (Royal Dublin)  bt P Connolly (Killeen Castle)  7/5

R Latimer (Knock)  bt R Williamson (Holywood) 2/1

J Sugrue (Mallow) bt J Madden (Royal Portrush) 3/1;

R Black (Hilton Templepatrick) bt D Coghlan (Portmarnock) 2/1

P McKeever (Castle) bt J Ryan (Castletroy) 20th

J Hickey (Cork)  bt M Norton (Belvoir Park) 1H

R Moran (Castle) bt T Clarke (Royal Portrush) 1H

T Neenan (Lahinch) bt C Butler (Kinsale) 3/1

J Blake (The Island) bt H Duggan (Kilkenny) 1H

D Foy (Laytown/B’town) bt R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire) 4/3

R Lester (Hermitage)  bt M Horan (Birr)  3/2

J Yates (Naas) bt F O’Sullivan (Tralee) 2/1

A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) bt P Kerr (Royal Portrush) 19th

S Desmond (Monkstown) bt N Carroll (Galway Bay) 3/2

G O’Flaherty (Cork) bt M McKinstry (Cairndhu) 1H

R O’Connor (Co Sligo) bt T McLarnon (Massereene) 3/2

A McCormack (Castletroy) bt J Fox (Portmarnock) 5/4

S Watts (Cairndhu) bt M O’Kelly (Limerick)  4/3

M Power (Kilkenny) bt M Boucher (Carton House) 2/1

A Gleeson (Castle) bt S Greenberg (Tandragee) 6/5

K Egan (Carton House) bt M McClean (Malone) 2/1

A Ryan (Thurles) bt P Coughlan (Castleknock) 4/3

P Murphy (Rosslare) bt R Cannon (Balbriggan) 5/4

M McCormack (Moss Creek USA) bt J Rackard (Enniscorthy) 2/1

R Dutton (Tandragee) bt G Ward (Kinsale) 20th

E Griffin (Waterford) bt R McKeever (Castle) 3/2

C Rafferty (Dundalk) bt N Hearns (Mount Rath) 6/4


Eugene Smith (Laytown & Bettystown) bt Ronan Mullarney (Galway) 2/1
Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) bt Gregory Royston (Cotswalds Downs)  3/2
Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) bt Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin) 4/3
James Sugrue (Mallow) bt Ross Lattimer 1H
Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick) bt Peter McKeever (Castle) 3/2
John Hickey (Cork) bt Robert Moran (Castle) 3/2
Jake Blake (The Island) bt Thomas Neenan (Lahinch) 1 H
Rowan Lester (Hermitage) bt Gavid Foy (Laytown & Bettystown) 6/4
Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) bt Jonathan Yates (Naas) 1H
Gerry O’Flaherty (Cork) bt Sean Desmond (Monkstown) 3/2
Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) bt Ruairi O’Connor (Co. Sligo) 5/3
Mark Power (Kilkenny) bt Stephen Watts (Cairndhu) 4/3
Keith EWgan (Carton House) bt Alex Gleeson (Castle) 4/3
Paul Murphy (Rosslare) bt Aaron Ryan (Thurles) 1H
Ross Dutton (Tandragee) bt Marc McCormack (Moss Creek) 1H
Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) bt Eanna Griffin (Waterford) 4/3


08:00   Eugene Smith (Laytown/B’town) –v- Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)

08:12   Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) –v-  James Sugrue (Mallow)

08:24   Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick) –v- John Hickey (Cork)

08:36   Jake Blake (The Island) -v- Rowan Lester (Hermitage)

08:48   Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) -v- Garry O’Flaherty (Cork)

09:00   Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) –v- Mark Power (Kilkenny)

09:10   Keith Egan (Carton House) -v- Paul Murphy (Rosslare)

09:24   Ross Dutton (Tandragee) -v- Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.