United States retains Palmer Cup at Evian Resort

Bernie McGuire
Bernie McGuire

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The United States defeated the International team by 38.5 to 21.5 at the Evian Resort Golf Club after a landslide in the singles where they claimed 18 of the 24 points on offer and now lead the overall series 12 – 9.

Team USA became the first U.S. side to win as the visiting team since the 2010 Americans and neither side had retained the cup since the U.S. in 2011.

Ireland’s Olivia Mehaffey did herself proud and won the day’s first point for her side, but the Americans responded by winning the next three. However Mehaffey was given a huge honour at the event as she, alongside Collin Morikawa, were named recipients of the Michael Carter Award, which is presented to the Arnold Palmer Cup participant that best represents the qualities and ideals of sportsmanship, integrity and upholding of the game. High praise indeed.

Unfortunately Ireland’s Chloe Ryan came up against USA’s Emilia Migliaccio in the singles. Migliaccio took the victory and was also the only player in this year’s matches to tally a 4-0 record.

Ronan Mullarney, Ireland’s sole male representative also lost on the final day 2&1 to Shintaro Ban.

Justin Suh of San Jose, Calif., was selected by both teams to receive the Arnold Palmer Cup exemption into the 2019 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard while Dylan Kim of Plano, Texas, was presented a wild card to The Evian Championship this September. Players selected the individual from both teams that they think best represents the “Arnold Palmer Legacy,” that is, the values that Arnold Palmer exhibited through his life in golf.

Final Round Singles Results 
Match 37:
Sophia Schubert, United States def. Maria Fassi, International, 2&1
Match 38:
Brad Dalke, United States def. Viktor Hovland, International, 2-up
Match 39:
Chandler Phillips, United States halved with Lorenzo Scalise, International
Match 40:
Olivia Mehaffey, International def. Jamie Freedman, United States, 5&4
Match 41:
Kaitlyn Papp, United States halved with Patty Tavatanakit, International
Match 42:
Andy Zhang, International def. Sahith Theegala, United States, 3&1
Match 43:
Collin Morikawa, United States def. Stefano Mazzoli, International, 6&5
Match 44:
Andrea Lee, United States def. Jiwon Jeon, International, 7&5
Match 45:
Lilia Vu, United States def. Maddie Szeryk, International, 3&1
Match 46:
Luis Gagne, International def. Stephen Franken, United States, 4&2
Match 47:
Justin Suh, United States def. K.K. Limbhasut, International, 4&3
Match 48:
Jennifer Kupcho, United States def. Dewi Weber, International, Forfeit due to Illness
Match 49:
Alana Uriell, United States def. Pimnipa Panthong, International, 2&1
Match 50:
Zach Bauchou, United States def. Alvaro Ortiz, International, 1-up
Match 51:
Braden Thornberry, United States def. Fredrik Nilehn, International, 3&2
Match 52:
Emilia Migliaccio, United States def. Chloe Ryan, International, 2&1
Match 53:
Kristen Gillman, United States def. Wenyung Keh, International, 4&3
Match 54:
SM Lee, United States def. Harry Hall, International, 2&1
Match 55:
Shintaro Ban, United States def. Ronan Mullarney, International, 2&1
Match 56:
Albane Valenzuela, International def. Lauren Stephenson, United States, 1-up
Match 57:
Mariel Galdiano, United States def. Jaravee Boonchant, International, 1-up
Match 58:
Jovan Rebula, International def. Davis Riley, United States, 3&2
Match 59:
Matthew Wolff, United States def. Hurly Long, International, 3&2
Match 60:
Dylan Kim, United States def. Ainhoa Olarra, International, 1-up

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.