Swedish invaders dominate opening day in Roganstown

Bernie McGuire

Sweden’s Kajsa Arwefjall fired four birdies en route to an opening 69 to take the first round lead at the Irish Girls’ Open Stroke Play Championship at Roganstown. 

The Championship, played over 54 holes, will see a field of 113 international players compete for the title which was first won by Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) in 2012.

Fourteen countries are represented in the event with large contingents from Germany, Sweden and Ireland as the home nation.


But it was Arwefjal who outshone all on day one with her two-under-par effort good enough for a slender one-shot advantage over a quartet of continental invaders. 

Four Swedes occupy the top-10 while Nicole Joyce-Moreno heads the Irish challenge as she finished level par for her round after a solid opening return.

Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden), who is the highest ranked player in the field, finished with a score of 73 and is confident of catching up on the leaders over the weekend:

“I got off to a shaky start with the double on the third, but I played nicely from there, a lot of putts just didn’t drop for me out there so the score could have been much better but hopefully they’ll drop tomorrow.”

Following the second 18 on Saturday, the top-50 players and ties will progress to Sunday’s final round. Without question, it’s still all to play for.

69       K Arwefjall (Sweden)
70        S Witt (Germany); L Schumacher (Germany); L Carlbom (Sweden); L Rydqvist (Sweden)
71        N Joyce-Moreno (Ireland); C Horder (Germany); C Eisenbeiss (Germany); E Svensson (Sweden)
72        K Brodie  (Scotland); E Lewis (England); R Brink (Sweden); L Huerlimann  (Switzerland); V Buehle (Germany); A Otten (Germany); C Whitehead  (England); P Schulz-Hanßen (Germany); R Belsham (England); D Modder (Netherlands); M Bechtold  (Germany)
73        L Walsh (Castlewarden); L Sperling (Germany); T Bjerkelo (Norway); C Hermes (Germany); E Willis (Wales); H Darling (Scotland); F Tynan (Wales); C Vikkula (Belgium); L Deutzmann (Germany)
74        A Bergsdottir (Iceland); B Coulter (Kirkistown Castle); A Krekling (Norway); C Worby (Wales); J Rankine (Scotland); L Hassert (Germany)
75        L Temple  Lang (Elm Park); A Schmidt (Denmark); L Bramwell (Wales); M Maier (Germany); H Lockley (Wales)
76        K O’Hart (Arklow); R Foster (Scotland); L Duncan (Scotland); E Andersson (Sweden); A Foster (Elm Park); E Fagersten (Sweden); L Volkmer  (Germany); D Harry (Wales); A McVicker (Belvoir Park)
77        S Ericsson (Sweden); K LANIGAN (Hermitage); O Bergner (Germany); V Clancy (Killarney); J Adams  (England); E Thorne  (Elm Park)
78        E Lindner (Germany); L Burke (England); R Gyllner (Sweden); A Leth-Nissen (Denmark); E Henderson (Scotland); S Byrne (Douglas); K Dwyer (Rossmore)
79        P Wilson (Scotland); R Gardner (Carnalea); A Donegan (Woodstock); E Gower (France); M Ashley (Scotland); L Jerlebo (Sweden); M Cederholm (Sweden); A BOWLER (Lucan); L Wulfers (Germany); K Gustafsson (Latvia); M Jucmane (Latvia); C O’Connor (Roscommon)
80        J Browne (Kilkenny); T Rosengren (Sweden); L Vogt (Germany); G Carr (Milltown); J Hays (England); N Borg (Sweden)
81        M Lindner (Germany); E Fleming (Elm Park Golf club); L Norlén-Åman (Sweden); O Hunt (England); C McGinty (England); A Dawson (Tramore)
82        M O’Hara (Clandeboye); I Grimbrandt (Sweden); A Thomas (Wales); F Vineall (Wales); E Henningsson (Sweden); L McClymont (Scotland); C Haesler (England)
83        J Ludviksdottir (Iceland); E RODGERS (Royal Portrush); C Leth-Nissen (Denmark); S McGuinness (Greenore); E Hammond-Baveystock (England); E Hynd (Scotland)
84        B PYKE (England); K Poots (Knock); C Brennan (Belvoir Park); M Kedzlie (England); T Bjerkelo (Norway)
85        K O’Keeffe (Tralee); L Kelly (Ballykisteen); C Griffin (Killarney)
87        F Behan (Killeen); O McCrystal (Holywood)
95        C Scholten (Netherlands)
99        C Shippam (Ballykisteen)
RTD    N O’Dwyer (Lahinch); E FORBES (Royal Portrush)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.