Irish Seniors claim European Team Championship title

Bernie McGuire

Ireland claimed the European Seniors Men’s Team Championship in Sweden as Adrian Morrow won the decisive point on the third extra hole against his Danish opponent.


It was a very tense affair and it took until the 21st hole for Morrow to win the deciding match as the Irish Senior Team took the title for the sixth time. 


The team were level on two points apiece and the match hinged on the game between Morrow and Denmark’s Henrik Daugaard. Ireland had already lost out in extra holes when Jim Carvill was beaten at the 19th by Hans Peter Jacobsen. John Mitchell and Eamon Haugh had combined for the third success of the week in the foursomes to put Ireland on the front foot and with Karl Bornemann taking his game 5&4, Ireland were just one point from victory.

Denmark drew level when Michael C Flindt beat Garth McGimpsey in the anchor leg. Now all eyes were on game four as Morrow and Daugaard prepared for sudden death having finished all square after 18 holes. Three more were required to produce an outcome. And Ireland celebrated when Morrow finally prevailed at the third extra hole. This was Ireland’s sixth European victory and their fourth in the last five years. 

Ireland team: Jim Carvill (Banbridge), Karl Bornemann (Douglas), Eamon Haugh (Castletroy), Garth McGimpsey (Royal Portrush), Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock), John Mitchell (Tramore) 

The Ireland team is captained by Sean O’Leary and the team manager is Brian Hutchinson. 

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.