Power opens Boys title defense with a 67 in Castletroy

Bernie McGuire
Bernie McGuire

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

Defending champion Mark Power (Kilkenny) holds a one-shot lead after the opening round at the Irish Boys Amateur Open Championship in Castletroy.

Power made six birdies on his way to carding a five-under 67, and was bogey-free on the back nine as he moved one clear of Rosslare’s John Brady. Raphael Le Bot from France stands alone in third following a 69.

Andrew Hickey from Ballyhaunis had a moment to savour when he recorded a hole-in-one at the 14th. Play resumes tomorrow with the cut following round three on Thursday. The top 50 and ties progress to the final day.


Castletroy GC, 27 June – Round 1 Scores

67 M Power (Kilkenny)
68 J Brady (Rosslare)
69 R Le Bot (France)
70 A Edwards-Hill (England); A Marshall (Lisburn); K Van der Weele (Netherlands)
71 J Cope (England); A Boland (Mallow); P Cunnane (Malone); D Cunningham (Tandragee)
72 D Daniels (England)
73 M Marin (France); R Black (Hilton Templepatrick); L Power (Galway); B Rossiter Gargan (Rosslare); M Hanley (Limerick); R Fitzgerald (Limerick); J Hanney (The Island); A Hill (Athenry)
74 S Jones (Belvoir Park); J Hrinda (Slovakia); J Mackin (Dundalk); R Kelly (Tuam); C Raymond (Newlands); L Schiergen (Germany); O Maguire (Slieve Russell); S Doyle (The Island); J Hearn (Tramore); R Williams (England); L O’Neill (Connemara); C Larcelet (France)
75 J Tuohy (Galway Bay); D Gurr (England); B McGuinness (Claremorris); R Moran (Castle); D Lynch (Clonmel); J Rooney (Co. Armagh); C Denvir (Elm Park); D Kelly (Cill Dara); C Dawson (Tramore); J Keane (Lahinch); N Hearns (Mountrath)
76 K McGinley (Sunningdale); A Hickey (Ballyhaunis); J Heatherington (Glasson); R Latimer (Knock); A Telli (Turkey); D Keating (Seapoint); D Steinarsson (Iceland); J Black (Hilton Templepatrick); J Doherty (Carton House)
77 E Murphy (Dundalk); N Saldarov (England); C McGuinness (Claremorris); J Small (Elm Park); Z Glynn (Bray); D Graham (Woodenbridge); O O’Driscoll (Golf Clementader); J Hyland (Omagh); C Byrne (Strabane); A Lennie (Clandeboye); I Turner (England); J Temple (Portmarnock); A Laussot (France)
78 B Howlin (The Heritage); S Carroll (Castle Dargan); J Shellard (Lisburn); H Gillivan (Westport); T Smyth (Castle); C Glennon (Glasson); R Cowhey (Elm Park); S Leonard (Mitchelstown); J Egan (Muskerry)
79 N Grant (The Island); C Ffrench (Carton House); L Nolan (Galway); C Murtagh (Balcarrick); J McCabe (Roganstown); D O’Connell (Kanturk); A Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown); R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire); B Haq (England); T Westenberger (Germany); K Tanpolat (Turkey); J Madden (Royal Portrush); K Robinson (Castlewarden)
80 L Merrigan (Bray); S Dowling (The Island); B Phipps (Ardee); O Telli (Turkey); E Sullivan (Carton House); P Callaghan (Castle Dargan); S Galvin (Fota Island); E Walsh (Mallow); C McDonald (Lurgan); D Raher (Dungarvan); J Logue (Hilton Templepatrick); J Rowe (Tandragee); P Bird (Co. Sligo); S Kearney (Esker Hills); S Miller (Clandeboye)
81 S Laverty (Dundalk); I Halpin (Cahir Park); J Hogan (Castletroy); S Kestell (Woodbrook); H Riboud (France); R Milne (Faithlegg); R Duggan (Kilkenny); R Eccles (Carton House)
82 L O’Sullivan (The Heritage); R Rikardsson (Iceland); R Galligan (Elm Park); M Kennedy (The Royal Dublin); S Fitzgerald (Tullamore); D Kitt (Athenry); D Leufer (Athenry); S O’Brien (Nenagh); J Everard (Kilkenny); J Connolly (Elm Park); D Li (Germany)
83 E Telli (Turkey); S Downes (The Royal Dublin); A Mulhall (Waterford Castle); E McGrath (Athlone); R Thompson (Greenacres); D Boden (Belvoir Park); J Brown (The Heath)
84 C Roe (Powerscourt); P Conroy (Enniscorthy); R Hynes (Oughterard); D Rochford (Bray); T Plunkett (Crover House); B Hynes (Greystones)
85 A Doherty (Carton House); D Kelleher (Blarney); J Pontes (Portugal)
86 K Patton (Lisburn); B Peden (Grange Castle); C Meade (East Clare); S Murphy (Portumna); W Eardley (England)
87 J Robinson (Lisburn)
88 C Dunn (Foyle); D Twomey (Elm Park)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.