Golf Ireland celebrate first caps and Bridgestone Order of Merit winners

Emma Fleming (Photo By Eóin Noonan/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The Order of Merit winners and first caps for 2023 were awarded today at Golf Ireland.

It was a busy day at headquarters with nine winners across the various Orders of Merit including the Men’s and Women’s Bridgestone Tours, while 22 players picked up their first caps.

David Shiel (Enniscrone) and Emma Fleming (Elm Park) were the big winners in the Bridgestone race, while Eddie McCormack (Galway Bay) and Alison Taylor (Malahide) capped off their brilliant years, which included European Senior titles, with Order of Merit titles.

The bronze medal winning Men’s Europeans team were represented by Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin) who won his first cap this year, while the Boys’ Home Internationals winning team had Donnacha Cleary (Tipperary), John Doyle (Fota Island) and James Walsh (Douglas) on-site to pick up their first caps.

“It’s great to have these people here today to reward them for their fine achievements throughout the year,” said Golf Ireland High Performance Director, Neil Manchip.

“One of the great things about golf is you can win your first cap at any age and we were delighted to recognise such a vast array of talent from across the game here at Golf Ireland.

“2023 was a great year in terms of the Orders of Merit domestically and our international teams, and we look forward to more of the same in the New Year.”


Order of Merit Winners:

U14 Boys: Jack McKenna (County Louth)

U16 Boys: Adam Fahey (Portmarnock)

U18 Boys: John Doyle (Fota Island)

U18 Girls: Ellen O’Shaughnessy (Co Louth)

Men’s Mid-Amateur: Dean O’Riordan (Fermoy)

Senior Men: Eddie McCormack (Galway Bay)

Senior Women: Alison Taylor (Malahide)

Bridgestone Tour Men: David Shiel (Enniscrone)

Bridgestone Tour Women: Emma Fleming (Elm Park)


First Cap Winners:

European Boys’ Team Championships:

Mark Gazi (Tralee)

Gavin Tiernan (County Louth)

European Girls’ Team Championships:

Kate Dillon (Oughterard)

Boys’ and Girls’ Home Internationals:

Donnacha Cleary (Tipperary)

John Doyle (Fota Island)

James Walsh (Douglas)

Hannah Lee McNamara (Royal Portrush)

Caoimhe O’Grady (Royal Dublin)

Ellen O’Shaughnessy (County Louth)

Senior Men’s European Team Championships:

Alan Condren (Greystones)

Noel Crawford (Mourne)

Colin Cunningham (Carton House)

Eddie McCormack (Galway Bay)

Senior Men’s and Women’s Home Internationals:

Peter Sheehan (Ballybunion)

Deirdre Walsh (Milltown)

European Team Championships:

Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin)

European Ladies’ Team Championships:

Mairead Martin (Kanturk)

Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)

Men’s and Women’s Home Internationals:

Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy)

David Shiel (Enniscrone)

Anna Dawson (Tramore)

Emma Fleming (Elm Park).

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.