Three players share the lead at Connacht Women’s & Girls’ Championships

Ronan MacNamara

Olivia Costello (Roscommon). (Photo: Golf Ireland / Thos Caffrey / Golffile)

Roscommon’s Olivia Costello, Katie Poots (Knock) and Hannah Guerin (Royal Tara) share the lead after 36 holes of the Connacht Women’s and Girls’ Championship at Castle Dargan.

Guerin toped the leader board following the opening round, as she posted a 5-under par 69. Starting her second round with a bogey, she recovered well on the back 9 to finish 6-under for the event alongside her Girls’ International teammates.

Poots was 1-under after her first 18 holes but a superb 67 in the afternoon brought her right into the mix. Her 7-under second 18 included two eagles and four birdies.


The score of the day however was posted by Costello who carded a bogey-free, 9-under par, 65 in round two. The local hopeful will look to add to her Connacht U16 Girls Open title which she won in 2021.

Meanwhile, Jessica Reynolds (Co. Sligo) leads the Women’s and Girls’ Junior Championship. The event for players with a handicap index between 12.1 and 20.0, saw 32 players compete over 18 holes today, with the final 18 played alongside the Senior Championship on Thursday. Reynolds will take a 1-shot advantage over Lucy Grattan (Tralee) into Thursday..



142 O Costello (Roscommon Golf Club), 77, 65; K Poots (Knock Golf Club), 75, 67; H Guerin (Royal Tara Golf Club), 69, 73
145 C Shippam (Ballykisteen Golf Club), 72, 73
146 C Coughlan (Douglas Golf Club), 73, 73
148 K Mulholland (Moyola Park Golf Club), 73, 75; K Dwyer (Rossmore Golf Club), 70, 78
149 V Conlon (Enniscrone Golf Club), 74, 75
151 V Clancy (Killarney Golf Club), 79, 72; C Walsh (Castlewarden Golf Club), 77, 74; C O’Grady (Black Bush Golf Club), 76, 75; K Dillon (Oughterard Golf Club), 75, 76
153 H Lee-McNamara (Foyle Golf Club), 82, 71; E O’Shaughnessy (Co. Louth Golf Club), 78, 75; N O’Grady (Black Bush Golf Club), 74, 79
154 C Maxwell (Royal Curragh Golf Club), 80, 74; A Abom (Edmondstown Golf Club), 78, 76
155 M O’Hara (Clandeboye Golf Club), 75, 80
156 E Murray (Co. Louth Golf Club), 82, 74
157 E Park (Edmondstown Golf Club), 81, 76; G McMeekin (Massereene Golf Club), 76, 81
158 K Fleming (Elm Park Golf & Sports Club Golf Club), 82, 76
159 S Reynolds (Co. Sligo Golf Club), 82, 77
160 E Cantwell (Esker Hills Golf Club), 84, 76; O Currie (Royal Portrush Golf Club), 80, 80
162 C Griffin (Killarney Golf Club), 84, 78; C Waldron (Naas Golf Club), 79, 83
164 E Lonergan (Westport Golf Club), 78, 86
165 M McLoughlin (Co. Sligo Golf Club), 86, 79; J Pang (Portarlington Golf Club), 84, 81; S Bullock (Castletroy Golf Club), 76, 89
166 M Harty (Galway Golf Club), 85, 81; S Ni Cheilleachair (Tullamore Golf Club), 85, 81; C Hewitt (Woodbrook Golf Club), 81, 85
167 J Currie (Royal Portrush Golf Club), 86, 81; N Carroll (Royal Tara Golf Club), 85, 82; E Proctor (Royal Portrush Golf Club), 81, 86
168 C Staunton (Ballinasloe Golf Club), 83, 85
171 L Hill (Strandhill Golf Club), 82, 89; R Wall (Forrest Little Golf Club), 82, 89
174 A Higgins (Roscommon Golf Club), 90, 84; L Lennon (Roscommon Golf Club), 87, 87
176 H McGoohan (Dun Laoghaire Golf Club), 89, 87; J Pang (Portarlington Golf Club), 88, 88
180 M Byrne (Baltinglass Golf Club), 92, 88
182 E Moynihan  (Tralee Golf Club), 90, 92
183 M Barrett (Ballinasloe Golf Club), 89, 94; S Rhatigan (Galway Golf Club), 87, 96
WD 178 M Cosgrave (Galway Bay Golf Club), 88, WD90
WD 193 C Fraser (Dun Laoghaire Golf Club), 92, WD101


81 J Reynolds (Co. Sligo Golf Club)
82 L Grattan (Tralee Golf Club)
86 R Murphy (Oughterard Golf Club)
87 J Hassett (Achill Golf Club)
88 A O’Neill (Athenry Golf Club); M Holmes (Athlone Golf Club); C Murphy (Co. Sligo Golf Club)
90 C O’Toole (Dromoland Golf Club)
91 J Fitzgerald (Dromoland Golf Club); M Bergin (Monkstown Golf Club)
92 S O’Connor (Galway Golf Club)
93 K Lyons (Achill Golf Club); T Cunnigham (Bearna Golf Club); T Kennedy (Galway Golf Club); P Lennon (Castle Dargan Golf Club)
94 R Hannon (Galway Golf Club)
95 T McLaughlin (Galway Golf Club); S Mc Crann (Strandhill Golf Club)
96 A McDermott (Galway Golf Club)
97 M Potgieter (Ballyhaunis Golf Club); E Vinarcik (Tralee Golf Club); T Meaney (Castlerea Golf Club); M Glynn (Loughrea Golf Club)
99 D Monahan (Loughrea Golf Club); M Grimes (Westport Golf Club); L O’Sullivan (Athlone Golf Club)
101 C Slemon (Bearna Golf Club)
102 N O’Rourke (Athlone Golf Club)
103 E O’Melvena (Royal Portrush Golf Club)
WD 91 J Joyce (Gort Golf Club)
WD 100 L Shaughnessy (Galway Bay Golf Club)
RTD 0 A Jordan (Gort Golf Club)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.