Morikawa awarded Honorary Life Membership of the European Tour

Fatiha Betscher

Collin Morikawa smiles as he is presented with Honorary Life Membership of the DP World Tour by Tour CEO Keith Pelley (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

Double Major winning Collin Morikawa joins a very elite group in becoming just the fifth American-born golfer to be afforded ‘Life Membership’ of the European Tour.

Moikawa had been a member of the Tour earlier this year in capturing a second major in winning the 149th Open at Royal St. Georges and now ahead of the season-ending DP World Tour Championship the 24-year old has been made a life member

It means Morikawa joins Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Watson and Patrick Reed as life members.


European Tour CEO Keith Pelley presented Morikawa with the honour earlier this morning (Dubai time) with Morikawa clearly taken aback by the honour.

Morikawa said: “Two and a half years ago when I turned pro, I had no clue what life was going to put in front of me, but I’m very thankful for what I’ve been able to accomplish. Obviously the world has gone through many changes, but this means a lot and I have to say thanks to the European Tour.

“We want to grow the game as much as we can, and this is an important piece of that. So I’m going to honour this and this is going to be very special and it is definitely a top highlight so far since turning pro, so thank you.”

Keith Pelley, European Tour Chief Executive, said: “On behalf of everyone on the Tour, I would like to officially welcome Collin into an illustrious group of players to receive Honorary Life Membership of the European Tour. Collin is an incredible talent and he has already accomplished so much in the game at such a young age.

“To win the Open Championship at the first attempt is a special achievement and he now has the opportunity to secure another piece of history this week by becoming the first American winner of the Race to Dubai. I know how much Collin enjoys competing on the European Tour and we were all very proud to see one of our members lift the Claret Jug in front of so many fans at Sandwich this summer.”

Full list of European Tour Honorary Life Members

1978 John Jacobs
1978 Bernard Hunt
1978 Dai Rees
1982 Peter Butler
1983 Seve Ballesteros
1983 Tony Jacklin
1985 Sir Henry Cotton
1985 Fred Daly
1985 Max Faulkner
1985 Bernhard Langer
1985 Sandy Lyle
1987 Sir Nick Faldo
1992 Ian Woosnam
1994 José María Olazábal
1995 Bob Charles
1995 Arnold Palmer
1995 Gary Player
1997 Colin Montgomerie
1998 Ernie Els
1999 Paul Lawrie
1999 Greg Norman
2001 Vijay Singh
2002 Retief Goosen
2003 Peter Alliss
2003 Bernard Gallacher
2004 Neil Coles
2004 Christy O’Connor
2004 John Panton
2005 Michael Campbell
2007 Angel Cabrera
2007 Padraig Harrington
2008 Trevor Immelman
2010 Martin Kaymer
2010 Graeme McDowell
2010 Louis Oosthuizen
2010 Tom Watson
2011 Darren Clarke
2011 Rory McIlroy
2011 Charl Schwartzel
2011 Lee Westwood
2012 Luke Donald
2012 Brian Huggett
2012 Tommy Horton
2012 Mark James
2012 Roger Chapman
2013 Dave Thomas
2013 Justin Rose
2014 Jack Nicklaus
2016 Peter Oosterhuis
2016 Danny Willett
2016 Henrik Stenson
2017 Sam Torrance
2017 Sergio Garcia
2018 Francesco Molinari
2019 Patrick Reed
2019 Shane Lowry
2021 Collin Morikawa

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.