Golf Ireland names 2022 Men’s and Women’s High Performance Squads

Aine Donegan, Anna Foster and Beth Coulter - credit (© Golffile | David Lloyd)

Golf Ireland have confirmed that 19 players will form the 2022 Men’s and Women’s High Performance squads. 12 men and seven women have been selected to form the backbone of Ireland’s international squads for next year.

Five players gained automatic selection on the Men’s squad, with any players in the top-250 of the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) gaining selection, along with the top-3 in the Bridgestone Men’s Order of Merit.

Mark Power (Kilkenny), Bridgestone Men’s Order of Merit winner Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas) and Robert Moran (Castle) all gained selection through WAGR, and were joined by Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin) and TJ Ford (Co. Sligo) from the Bridgestone Men’s Order of Merit.

The Men’s HP squad also features Marc Boucher (Carton House), Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire), David Kitt (Athenry), Alex Maguire (Laytown and Bettystown), Matthew McClean (Malone), Jack McDonell (Forrest Little) and Liam Nolan (Galway).

Four players gained automatic selection to the Women’s squad, due to being in the top-150 of WAGR. Curtis Cup duo Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) and Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) are joined by 2021 AIG Irish Women’s Close champion Anna Foster (Elm Park) and Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle).

Sara Byrne (Douglas), Áine Donegan (Lahinch) and Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little) complete the Women’s HP squad.

2022 Golf Ireland Men’s High Performance Squad

  • Marc Boucher (Carton House)
  • Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire)
  • Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin)
  • TJ Ford (Co. Sligo)
  • David Kitt (Athenry)
  • Alex Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown)
  • Matthew McClean (Malone)
  • Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little)
  • Robert Moran (Castle)
  • Liam Nolan (Galway)
  • Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)
  • Mark Power (Kilkenny)

2022 Golf Ireland Women’s High Performance Squad

  • Sara Byrne (Douglas)
  • Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)
  • Áine Donegan (Lahinch)
  • Anna Foster (Elm Park)
  • Julie McCarthy (Forrest Little)
  • Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
  • Annabel Wilson (Lurgan)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.