Ulster Women and Connacht Men prevail at the 2021 Interpros


Team Connacht - winners of the Men’s Interprovincial Championships 2021, Shannon Golf Club, Shannon, Clare, Ireland. 27/08/2021 Picture: Golffile | Thos Caffrey

Ulster (Women) and Connacht (Men) are the 2021 Interprovincial Champions. The two teams overcame Munster (Women) and Leinster (Men) in their final matches to claim the titles on an exciting final day at Shannon GC.

After going 2-1 down in the morning’s foursomes, Ulster came back to win the afternoon’s singles with Clandeboye’s Molly O’Hara securing the winning point. Four of Ulster’s six players are still in their teens, and O’Hara hopes the win can lead to further Interprovincial titles in the coming years.

“It feels amazing. We’ve all gotten really good, as we’ve gotten older. To all be on the same team and win the Interpros is unbelievable.


“I was 4-down through 5, and I’ve been in that position too many times to know that I’ve got to dig in. I got it back to All Square on 14, and won it on 17. I’m very happy.”

Connacht have won their first Interprovincial title in a decade after the Westerners beat Leinster 6-5. Joe Lyons was the only surviving member of the 2011 team and won the decisive point, beating Keith Egan on the 17th.

Speaking after the win, Lyons said it would be his last time playing in the Interpros:

“I dont think I was ever as nervous on a golf course. This will be my last year playing Interpros. To win a second Interpro title in 18 years – given the resources in Connacht – we’ve only ever won it three times

“My arms and legs felt like jelly in the last few holes. We scrambled over the line in the end. It’s the best way for me to end it.”

Women’s Interprovincials – Day 3 Results
Connacht 2-7 Leinster

Shannon Burke and Kate Dillon lost to Kate Lanigan and Ellen O’Gorman 2&1
Hilary Hall and Emma Gilmore lost to Rachel McDonnell and Leah Temple Lang 5&4
Sinead Lohan and Annabel Greham lost to Ciara Casey and Emma Fleming 2&1
Shannon Burke beat Kate Lanigan 1 hole
Hilary Hall lost to Ellen O’Gorman 6&4
Kate Dillon lost to Ciara Casey 4&3
Annabel Greham lost to Emma Fleming 5&4
Sinead Lohan beat Lauren Murray 2&1
Claire Staunton lost to Leah Temple Lang 2&1

Munster 3.5-5.5 Ulster
Aideen Walsh and Clodagh Coughlan beat Rebekah Gardner and Katie Poots 1 hole
Paula Walsh and Lauren Kelly beat Beth Coulter and Kate Dwyer 2&1
Rachel Thompson and Corrina Griffin lost Louise Coffey and Molly O’Hara 4&3
Aideen Walsh lost to Beth Coulter 3&2
Caitlin Shippam beat Louise Coffey 5&3
Paula Walsh lost to Rebekah Gardner 2&1
Clodagh Coughlan lost to Katie Poots 6&5
Lauren Kelly lost to Molly O’Hara 2&1
Rachel Thompson halved with Kate Dwyer

Men’s Interprovincials – Day 3 Results
Ulster 7.5-3.5 Munster
Matthew McClean and Aaron Marshall beat Peter O’Keeffe and Paul Buckley 4&2
Shane McDermott and Gareth Lappin halved with Richard Knightly and Eanna Griffin
Jordan Hood and Kyle McCarron lost to Darren O’Sullivan and Cathal Butler 5&4
Michael Reid and James Hewitt beat Darragh Flynn and Jack Egan 4&3
Matthew McClean beat Peter O’Keeffe 3&2
Shane McDermott beat Richard Knightly 2&1
Aaron Marshall beat Darren O’Sullivan 1 hole
Gareth Lappin beat Eanna Griffin 6&5
Kyle McCarron lost to Jack Egan 2&1
Michael Reid beat Cathal Butler 2&1
James Hewitt lost to Darragh Flynn 3&2

Connacht 6-5 Leinster
Jack McDonnell and TJ Ford lost to Alan Fahy and Hugh Foley 2&1
Allan Hill and Simon Walker lost to Marc Boucher and Caolan Rafferty 5&4
Liam Nolan and Sam Murphy beat Paul Coughlan and Jake Whelan 4&3
Joe Lyons and David Kitt beat Keith Egan and Robert Moran 2&1
Liam Nolan beat Hugh Foley 4&3
Jack McDonnell beat Caolan Rafferty 5&4
TJ Ford lost to Robert Moran 4&3
David Kitt beat Marc Boucher 6&5
Sam Murphy lost to Alan Fahy 2&1
Simon Walker lost to Jake Whelan 7&6
Joe Lyons beat Keith Egan 2&1

Interprovincial Championships – Top Points Scorers
5.5 – Liam Nolan (Connacht Men)
5 – Alan Fahy (Leinster Men), David Kitt (Connacht Men), Molly O’Hara (Ulster Women), Katie Poots (Ulster Women)
4.5 – Aaron Marshall (Ulster Men), Matthew McClean (Ulster Men), Caolan Rafferty (Leinster Men)
4 – Shannon Burke (Connacht Women), Clodagh Coughlan (Munster Women), Beth Coulter (Ulster Women), Hugh Foley (Leinster Men), Rebekah Gardner (Ulster Women), Gareth Lappin (Ulster Men), Shane McDermott (Ulster Men), Ellen O’Gorman (Ulster Women), Caitlin Shippam (Munster Women)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.