McIlroy plays down chances of third career ‘double crown’

Rory McIlroy. Image by @tourmiss

Rory McIlroy has seemingly ruled out his chances of capturing golf’s ‘double crown’ as he looks to add a Race to Dubai title to his PGA Tour FedEx Cup trophy.

Twice before in his now 12-year pro career McIlroy has won the ‘double’ and that was in 2012 and then in 2014.

McIlroy collected a third FedEx Cup No. 1 title with his victory late August at the Tour Championship but he currently trails in 24th place on the Race to Dubai, well adrift of fellow Irishman Shane Lowry.

Of course, McIlroy’s lowly position was not helped by his controversial decision at the start of the year not to rejoin the European Tour, meaning results such as his second place result in the WGC – Mexico Championship did not count.

And with the current World No. 2 suggesting he is only scheduled to make two more European Tour appearances this season – those being the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai and the season-ending DP World Tour Championship – it is no wonder the 30-year old is playing down his Race to Dubai victory chances.

“I wouldn’t be too confident about doing the double,” he said.

“Besides, I’m just not playing enough to do that.

“I’m playing here, then I’m going to the Far East to play a PGA Tour event in Japan and then I play in China, which is a co-sanctioned event, and then play Dubai.

“I’m probably not playing enough to win the Race to Dubai, but you never know, if I win a couple, I could at least give myself a chance.”

After playing catch-up over the weekend last week at the BMW PGA Championship, McIlroy looks hell-bent on ensuring that’s not the case ahead of moving day in Scotland at the Alfred Dunhill Links.

Currently out on the golf course, McIlroy is blazing a trail of destruction in round two having fired an eagle and three birdies through seven holes to move to within four shots of the lead.

Live scoring HERE



Get all the latest golf news and free digital editions of Irish Golfer delivered straight to your inbox!