O’Briain claims Irish Club Professional title at Dromoland

Bernie McGuire

Neil O’Briain (Old Conna GC) eagled the first playoff hole as he claimed the PGA Irish Club Professional title sponsored by Carr Golf in dramatic style at Dromoland Castle on Thursday.

After 36 holes the 31-year-old found himself in a playoff with Eamonn Brady (Clontarf) after both players finished the 36-hole event on four under par.

O’Briain started the final day a full six shots behind first round leader Simon Thornton (Tulfarris Resort) but charged through the field on the back of a six under par 66 which was the lowest score of the week.

“I played really nicely today alright but I knew that I had to go out all guns blazing after a poor performance on day one,” said O’Briain, the 2017-2018 Sunshine Tour rookie.

“It was playing tough especially in round one. The wind is always swirling around and it can catch you out.”

Brady, who carded rounds of 69 and 71 faced O’Briain on in the playoff on the short par four 10th [262 yards] where.in regulation play, Brady had eagled the hole while O’Briain had flown the green but somehow managed to escape with a par.

“It was slightly colder by the time we got out for the play-off and I hit a cutty driver into around nine feet,” said O’Briain.  “Eamonn followed me and hit a great three wood and was only 16/18 feet away on the fringe. He rolled his putt down to gimme range and mine was downhill and left edge and it just about hung on to drop in.”

“I’m very happy to win this title, it’s one of the trophies that I am missing.”

Overnight leader, Simon Thornton (Tulfarris Golf Resort) followed up his opening round 68 with a one over 73 to finish tied for third.

PGA Irish Club Professional Tournament sponsored by Carr Golf

*T1      Neil O’Briain  (Old Conna Golf Club)                                    74/66   140      -4
T1        Eamonn Brady  (Clontarf Golf Club)                                     69/71   140      -4
3          Simon Thornton  (Tulfarris Golf Resort)                               68/73   141
4          Joe Dillon  (Headfort Golf Club)                                           72/71   143
T5        Colm Moriarty  (Glasson Hotel & Golf Club)                     74/70   144
T5        Jimmy Bolger  (Kilkenny Golf Club)                                     73/71   144
7          Mark Murphy  (Mount Wolseley Golf & County C)          73/72   145
T8        David Barry  (Douglas Golf Club)                                         74/72   146
T8        David Ryan  (Cahir Park Golf Club)                                      72/74   146

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.