Olivia Mehaffey named as ANNIKA Award finalist

Olivia Mehaffey / Image from Getty Images

Olivia Mehaffey / Image from Getty Images

Arizona State Junior Olivia Mehaffey has been named as a finalist for the ANNIKA Award as the list of candidates was reduced to ten, announced online by GolfWeek and Golf Channel.

Since 2014, the ANNIKA Award presented by Stifel has been handed out annually to the top player in collegiate women’s golf, as selected by college golfers, coaches and members of the golf media. This is the second consecutive year that Mehaffey has made the final watch list of the season, earning a spot in the Top-15 last May.

Mehaffey makes the cut for the final ten even though she didn’t make the most recent “Watch List” put out by GolfWeek, which narrowed the candidates down to 15. She has forced her way into contention for the award because of her spectacular play recently and has skyrocketed up the Golfstat Individual Rankings, currently sitting in the Top-10 at No. 7, moving up five spots after another outstanding weekend where she tied for first at the Norman Regional.


Julie McCarthy, who had been on the top-15 watch list unfortunately didn’t make the ultimate ten finalists list but has had a stellar season at Auburn and will no doubt be back in consideration again next year.

The winner will be announced live on Golf Channel on Tuesday, June 4th and will receive an exemption into the Evian Championships later this summer. Current players, coaches, and golf SID’s are eligible to vote for the ANNIKA Award, with the polls opening this morning on the ANNIKA Award website. Voting will also be available at the 2019 NCAA Championships in Fayettville.

Joining Mehaffey on the ANNIKA Watch List are five fellow Pac-12 competitors; Stanford’s Andrea Lee and Albane Valenzuela, UCLA’s Patty Tavatanakit and Mariel Galdiano, as well as USC’s Jennifer Chang. Others featured on the list include last year’s winner Maria Fassi of Arkansas, Frida Kinhult (Florida State), with Wake Forest’s Jennifer Kupcho and Emilia Migliaccio rounding out the Top-10.

List of ANNIKA Award Winners
2018 – Maria Fassi, Arkansas
2017 – Leona Maguire, Duke
2016 – Bronte Law, UCLA
2015 – Leona Maguire, Duke
2014 – Alison Lee, UCLA

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.