Mullarney continues fine form at Irish Intervarsities

Bernie McGuire

The Irish Intervarsity Championships got underway at Enniscrone Golf Club yesterday and Galway’s Ronan Mullarney (MU), fresh from his victory in the Fife Students’ Open Tournament at Fairmont St Andrews last weekend, holds a one shot overnight lead after an opening round 74 (+1).

There is a two-way tie at the top of the leaderboard in the race for the women’s title. Meadhbh Doyle (MU) and Clodagh Jones (IT Tralee) share top spot after opening rounds of 77 (+4) with IGM’s Mary Doyle just one shot adrift.

The top 30 and ties in the men’s event following today’s second round will progress to the final round on Friday. In the women’s event, the top seven and ties will progress.


Round 1 Scores

Men (Par 73):
74 R Mullarney (Maynooth University)
75 C Butler (Maynooth University); B Murray (University College Cork); A McDaid (Dublin Business School); G Ward (Cork IT)
76 J McVicker (Ulster University); M Burke (NUI Galway)
77 J Hickey (Cork IT); A Fahy (Maynooth University); C Woodroofe (Maynooth University); E Smith (Maynooth University); G Fitzmaurice (University College Dublin)
78 P O’Beirn (NUI Galway); C Rafferty (Maynooth University); M Kennelly (NUI Galway); J Hayden (University College Dublin); J Hood (Maynooth University); C Nolan (NUI Galway); J Knipe (Ulster University)
79 C Hughes (NUI Galway); R O’Doherty (NUI Galway); D Brady (Maynooth University); C Roche (Cork IT); A Ryan (Maynooth University); D Diaz (Ulster University)
80 L Grehan (Maynooth University); J Rafferty (Maynooth University); M Healy (University College Cork)
81 R Steedman (Maynooth University)
82 T Ford (Maynooth University); E Griffin (Maynooth University); J Lawlor (Maynooth University); A Mc Quillan (Ulster University)
83 H Gillivan (Maynooth University); C Byrne (University College Dublin); C Ryan (Maynooth University); B Doggett (Dundalk IT); S Desmond (University College Cork); L Flynn (Trinity College Dublin)
84 C McGoldrick (Dublin City University); A Comerford (NUI Galway); C Hastings (Galway-Mayo IT); J McCarthy (University College Dublin); J Mc Donnell (Maynooth University)
85 C Friel (NUI Galway); N McKinstry (Ulster University)
86 R Browne (University College Dublin); J Doherty (Dublin City University); M O’Farrell (NUI Galway); S Greenberg (Ulster University)
87 J Quinn (The Island); R Dutton (Ulster University); R Dineen (Cork IT)
88 E O’Brien (Maynooth University); C McCormack (Trinity College Dublin)
89 C O’Carroll (Cork IT); D Mealia (Maynooth University)
90 M Shiel (NUI Galway)
91 T Coakley (Cork IT)
92 K Power (University College Dublin)
93 D Hourihan (University College Cork); D Devlin (Cork IT); E Haran (Trinity College Dublin)
95 G Carr (Maynooth University)
97 C Feeney (Maynooth University)
NR D Kelly (Maynooth University); R Dunne (Maynooth University); L Power (Maynooth University); T O’Reilly (Dundalk IT); A McSweeney (Cork IT); C McDonald (Ulster University)

Women (Par 73):
77 C Jones (IT Tralee); Meadhbh Doyle (Maynooth University)
78 Mary Doyle (Maynooth University); M Dowling (Maynooth University); E Metcalfe (Maynooth University)
79 C Casey (Maynooth University)
80 S Burke (Ulster University)
85 J Allen (Ulster University); N Ward (Ulster University)
86 A Ni Thuama (University College Cork); R Mc Donnell (University College Dublin)
88 K Bromley (Ulster University)
90 C Walsh (Maynooth University); S Lambe (Maynooth University)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.