Ballybunion and Grange set for Junior Cup final

Bernie McGuire

In the AIG Junior Cup Ballybunion will meet Grange in the final as the Munster side saw off Loughrea while Grange accounted for Malone.

Ballybunion’s victory came after a tight encounter with Adrian Walsh winning the crucial point on the second extra hole.
Afterwards a visibly delighted Walsh was looking forward to the final and the prospect of a second AIG Junior Cup win for the club in four years.
“It’d be unreal. We won the Bruen two years ago [Walsh was part of that team]. I don’t think there are too many people in the club with two All-Irelands so it would be nice to bring home one especially in the Junior Cup because you’re on your own, in Bruen you have a partner with you the whole time. It would be a sweet one to bring home the Junior Cup.”

Ballybunion last won a green pennant in 2015 (AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield) while Grange are hoping to bridge a longer gap, the Dublin side having last won an All Ireland title in 1937.


AIG Junior Cup Semi-Finals results at Carton House

Ballybunion 3.5, Loughrea 1.5
(Ballybunion names first)
Philip Byrne bt Padraig Hynes 2 holes; Frank Geary Jnr. lost to Evan O’Doherty 3/1; Ronan Cross bt Paddy McMahon 4/3′ Adrian Walsh bt David Byrnes 20th; Brian Slattery halved with Brendan Dunne

Grange 3.5, Malone 1.5
(Grange names first)
Kevin O’Meara bt Ben Brennan 2/1; Paul McNiff lost to Luke O’Sullivan 3/2; Graham McDonnell halved with James Millar; Niall McCormick bt David Fleming 2/1; Jack Ward bt Jamie Thompson 7/6


AIG Pierce Purcell Shield
Thursday 21st September
Royal Curragh v Moyola Park
(Royal Curragh names first)
Michael Cleary & Brendan Mullins v Seamus Graffin & Timothy Steele; Eddie Trant & Jimmy Murphy v Malachy McKee & Stephen Heaney; Anthony Ryan & Thomas Powell v Bernard O’Kane & Gerald Loughlin; Martin Whitty & Bill Geraghty v Conor McKenna & Tony Johnston; Brenny Murphy & Paul Dempsey v Desmond Cleary & Martin McNabb

Thurles v Portumna
(Thurles names first)
Tommy Quigley & Shane Quigley v Dean Cox & Brian Mooney; Stephen Quigley & Martin Fahy v Padric Cahalan & Alan Hayes; John Looby & Gerard Maguire v Dan Hogan & Padraig Hogan; Pat Coote & Sean Sherlock v Enda Quigley & Alan Page; Johnny Nevin & Adrian O’Keefe v Sean McEntee & David Hughes

AIG Junior Cup
Ballybunion v Grange
(Ballybunion names first)
Philip Byrne v Kevin O’Meara; Frank Geary Jnr v Paul McNiff; Ronan Cross v Graham McDonnell; Adrain Walsh v Niall McCormick; Brian Slattery v Jack Ward

AIG Barton Shield
at Carton House
Galway v Warrenpoint
Joe Lyons & Luke O’Neill v Stephen Coulter & Paul Reavey; Ronan Mullarney & Liam Power v Colm Campbell & Ryan Gribben

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.