Moyvalley primed for Interprovincial Matches

Irish Golfer

Kate Dwyer (Ulster) on the 5th during the morning Foursomes of the Women's & Men's Interprovincial Championships 2021 2021, Shannon, Shannon, Clare, Ireland. 27/08/2021 Picture: Golffile | Thos Caffrey

Irish Golfer

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The 2022 Men’s and Women’s Interprovincial Matches begin on Tuesday morning in Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort.

Connacht Men and Ulster Women won last year’s competitions in Shannon and will both look to successfully defend them in the coming days in the round-robin event.

Kate Dwyer is one of three players from the Ulster Women’s team that returns this year looking to defend the title. The Rossmore golfer won 2.5 points last year, and she’s hoping to impress again this week.

“It was a brilliant week in Shannon last year. Amy [O’Donnell] and Olivia [Currie] will be playing in the Women’s Interpros for the first time this week, so we have a mixture of experienced players with some newcomers, and some players coming back into the team.

“Golf can be very individual at times, so to get the chance to come together as a team and represent the province is a huge honour. Our captain Paula [Metcalfe] has been brilliant to deal with in preparations for this week. She has given us a lot of say in partnerships, but we’ll still see who gels together and hopefully it can all fall into place.”

No player won more points in last year’s matches than Liam Nolan. The Galway golfer was unbeaten in his six matches, winning 5.5 points as Connacht won the Men’s competition for the first time in their history, outside of the province.

“We were close to losing to Ulster on the first day, but we came back in the Singles, and we went on to win the whole thing. It was the most Irish internationals we ever had in a team, and we had brilliant players across the board. It was a very strong team, and it was great to get over the line.

“The captain Damien [Coyne] is so good. He played Interpros himself and he is such a calming influence. He doesn’t interfere on the course, and lets us do what we want. The group has brilliant faith in him. It’s a similar team to last year, but the new faces will bring a fresh hunger too.

“These lads are some of my best mates in golf. There is a deep friendship there. I love playing for Connacht and can’t wait for the matches to get started.”

In the Women’s competition, Connacht face Leinster, and Ulster play Munster on Day 1, while Connacht meet Munster and Leinster take on Ulster in the Men’s competition.

2022 Men’s and Women’s Interprovincial Teams
Connacht Men
Sean Flanagan (Portmarnock)
TJ Ford (Co. Sligo)
Harry Gillivan (Westport)
Allan Hill (Roscommon)
David Kitt (Athenry)
Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little)
Liam Nolan (Galway)
Simon Walker (Roscommon)

Captain: Damien Coyne (Tuam)
Manager: Cathal McConn (Roscommon)

Connacht Women
Ada Bowler (Lucan)
Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna)
Olivia Costello (Roscommon)
Kate Dillon (Oughterard)
Annabel Greham (Ballina)
Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook)

Captain: Anne Fahy (Portumna)
Manager: Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook)

Leinster Men
Marc Boucher (Carton House)
Robert Brazill (Naas)
Paul Coughlan (Castleknock)
Charlie Denvir (Elm Park)
Keith Egan (Carton House)
Alan Fahy (Bray)
Eoin Murphy (Dundalk)
Jake Whelan (Grange)

Captain: Harry McAlinden (Bray)
Manager: Michael Maher (Luttrellstown Castle)

Leinster Women
Anna Abom (Edmondstown)
Emma Fleming (Elm Park)
Kate Lanigan (Hermitage)
Jenny Maguire (Foxrock)
Rachel McDonnell (Elm Park)
Emily Murray (Co. Louth)
Ellen O’Gorman (Milltown)

Captain: Una Marsden (Tullamore)
Manager: Orla Darcy (Naas)

Munster Men
John Cleary (Elm Park)
Darragh Flynn (Carton House)
Conor Hickey (Dooks)
Alex King (Faithlegg)
Richard Knightly (Royal Dublin)
Jack Murphy (Douglas)
Darren O’Sullivan (Tralee)
David Reddan (Nenagh)

Captain: Juan Fitzgerald (Limerick)
Manager: Shane Horgan (Monkstown)

Munster Women
Clodagh Coughlan (Douglas)
Corrina Griffin (Killarney)
Lauren Kelly (Ballykisteen)
Aoife Ni Thuama (Douglas)
Caitlin Shippam (Ballykisteen)
Aideen Walsh (Lahinch)
Paula Walsh (Doneraile)

Captain: Jean O’Driscoll (Muskerry)
Manager: Sinead Enright (Macroom)

Ulster Men
Ryan Griffin (Ballybofey & Stranorlar)
Cian Harkin (Letterkenny)
James Hewitt (Tandragee)
Joshua Hill (Galgorm Castle)
Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle)
Ross Latimer (Clandeboye)
Aaron Marshall (Lisburn)
Shane McDermott (Slieve Russell)

Captain: Rory Leonard (Banbridge)
Manager: Peter Waddell (Knock)

Ulster Women
Louise Coffey (Malone)
Olivia Currie (Royal Portrush)
Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)
Amy O’Donnell (Royal Portrush)
Katie Poots (Knock)
Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
Laura Webb (Royal Portrush)

Captain: Paula Metcalfe (Malone)
Manager: Siobhan Greene (Malone)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.