AIG All-Ireland Inter-Club Finals take shape after weekend of Area Finals

14/08/2022: Fintona Challenge Cup winners L/R; Patricia McNabb,Susan Dorrian,Dympna Franey,Anna McNelis team captain, Fionna Delargy (Golf Ireland Secretary) Carmel Colgan and Bernie McCillen at the Ulster AIG Inter Club Finals at Dungannon Golf Club.Picture by Philip Fitzpatrick at the AIG Ulster North inter club finals in Dungannon Golf Club Co. Tyrone. 14/08/2022 Picture Philip Fitzpatrick /Golffile

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

34 teams advanced to the AIG All-Ireland Inter-Club Finals after a weekend of Area Finals around the country.

In the AIG Men’s Jimmy Bruen Shield, all eight finalists were confirmed for Slieve Russell in September. Leinster Central champions Wexford were the biggest winners of the weekend, defeating Palmerstown House 4-1. Ballinrobe, Clontarf, Coollattin, East Cork, Ballykisteen, Fortwilliam and Killmoon will join Wexford in the final eight.

Fintona remain in with a chance of retaining the AIG Women’s Challenge Cup. The Tyrone club won the Ulster North Area Final, defeating Ballycastle 4-1. Tubbercurry, Cill Dara, Headfort, Greystones, Tipperary, Adare Manor and Tandgaree will join them in Slieve Russell.

Cill Dara will be represented by two teams in Slieve Russell, with the Kildare club also winning the AIG Women’s Cup. They defeated Rathdowney 4-1 in the Area Final. Cill Dara will be joined by Westport, Ardee, Castle, Mallow, Ballyneety, Greenacres and Rockmount.

Six teams advanced from the AIG Women’s Senior Foursomes Area Finals as Roscommon, Kilkenny, Royal Tara, Elm Park, Mallow and Ballybunion move on to the All-Ireland Finals.

Two Area Finals took place in the AIG Women’s Junior Foursomes as Dunmurry and Killymoon booked their spots in Tramore in early September.

In the AIG Women’s Intermediate Cup, Edmondstown won the Leinster South Final as Wicklow won the Men’s Fred Perry in Leinster South.

AIG Men’s Jimmy Bruen Shield
Connacht: Mountbellew 1.5-3.5 Ballinrobe
Leinster Central: Palmerstown House 1-4 Wexford
Leinster North: Rush 2-3 Clontarf
Leinster South: Woodbrook 2-3 Coollattin
Munster East: Clonmel 1.5-3.5 East Cork
Munster West: Ballykisteen 3-2 Ballyheigue Castle
Ulster North: Cloughaneely 1.5-3.5 Fortwilliam
Ulster South: Killymoon 3.5-1.5 Rockmount

AIG Women’s Challenge Cup
Connacht: Athlone 2-3 Tubbercurry
Leinster Central: Rathdowney 1-4 Cill Dara
Leinster North: Headfort 4-1 Roganstown
Leinster South: Greystones 3.5-1.5 Ballinascorney
Munster East: Tipperary 3-2 East Cork
Munster West: Tralee 1-4 Adare Manor
Ulster North: Ballycastle 1-4 Fintona
Ulster South: Belvoir Park 4-1 Tandragee

AIG Women’s Minor Cup
Connacht: Westport 3-2 Strandhill
Leinster Central: Cill Dara 4-1 Rathdowney
Leinster North: Black Bush 1-4 Ardee
Leinster South: Castle 3-2 Coollattin
Munster East: Mallow 3-2 Templemore
Munster West: Beaufort 2-3 Ballyneety
Ulster North: Greenisland 1.5-3.5 Greenacres
Ulster South: Rockmount 3-2 Nuremore

AIG Women’s Junior Foursomes
Ulster North: Ballyliffin 0.5-2.5 Dunmurry
Ulster South: Killymoon 2.5-0.5 Warrenpoint

AIG Women’s Senior Foursomes
Connacht: Roscommon 2.5-0.5 Athlone
Leinster Central: Enniscorthy 1-2 Kilkenny
Leinster North: Balbriggan 0.5-2.5 Royal Tara
Leinster South: Carton House 1-2 Elm Park
Munster East: Mallow 2-1 Douglas
Munster West: Ballybunion 2.5-0.5 Lahinch

AIG Women’s Intermediate Cup
Leinster South: Edmondstown 3.5-1.5 The K Club

Men’s Fred Perry
Leinster South: Wicklow 3.5-1.5 Coollattin

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.