Lowry grouped with Molinari & Stenson at US Open; McIlroy with DJ and Rose

Irish Golfer

Shane Lowry hits his tee shot on the fourth hole during the practice round at the 2021 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines Golf Course in San Diego, Calif. on Monday, June 14, 2021. (Chris Keane/USGA)

Irish Golfer

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

Shane Lowry will be amongst the early starters when play gets underway on Thursday for the third men’s Major of the year, the US Open at Torrey Pines.

The reigning Open Champion, who boasts top-10 finishes at the Masters and the PGA Championship already this year, has been bolstered by a nice Ryder Cup themed group with European stalwarts Francesco Molinari and Henrik Stenson alongside the Clara man for the first two days in California.

Four-time Major champion and 2011 US Open winner Rory McIlroy will hope to rekindle his Major ambitions when he gets his tournament bid underway in the company of world number one Dustin Johnson and Olympic Gold medallist Justin Rose. McIlroy will be eyeing a fast start having been left behind in the traps at Major championships of late and has an evening opening tee-time from the first hole on Thursday.

Meanwhile, in their infinite wisdom, the USGA have opted to separate former U.S. Open champions Brooks Koepka and Bryson DeChambeau for the first two days. Koepka is grouped alongside PGA Championship winners Justin Thomas and Collin Morikawa while DeChambeau will start his title defence in the afternoon alongside Masters champion Hideki Matsuyama and US Amateur champion Tyler Strafaci.

Thursday’s first round tee-times below. All times Eastern

9:45 a.m – Sahith Theegala, Edoardo Molinari, Greyson Sigg
9:56 a.m. – Chris Baker, J.J. Spaun, Fabian Gomez
10:07 a.m. – Patrick Rodgers, Robby Shelton, (a) Pierceson Coody
10:18 a.m. – Russell Henley, Mackenzie Hughes, Harris English
10:29 a.m. – Francesco Molinari, Henrik Stenson, Shane Lowry
10:40 a.m. – Matt Fitzpatrick, Tyrrell Hatton, Viktor Hovland
10:51 a.m. – Martin Kaymer, Webb Simpson, Gary Woodland
11:02 a.m. – Tony Finau, Abraham Ancer, Daniel Berger
11:13 a.m. – Si Woo Kim, Kevin Na, Bernd Wiesberger
11:24 a.m. – Jimmy Walker, Ian Poulter, Ryan Palmer
11:35 a.m. – J.T. Poston, Adam Hadwin, (a) Joe Long
11:46 a.m. – Luis Fernando Barco, Dylan Meyer, (a) Matthew Sharpstene
11:57 a.m. – Mario Carmona, Wilson Furr, Davis Shore
3:30 p.m. – Zach Zaback, Steve Allan, Eric Cole,
3:41 p.m. – Hayden Buckley, Taylor Montgomery, Jordan Smith
3:52 p.m. – Chez Reavie, Richard Bland, Troy Merritt
4:03 p.m. – Robert MacIntyre, Victor Perez, Matt Wallace
4:14 p.m. – Tyler Strafaci, Hideki Matsuyama, Bryson DeChambeau
4:25 p.m. – Adam Scott, Sergio Garcia, Bubba Watson
4:36 p.m. – Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose
4:47 p.m. – Matt Jones, Brendan Steele, Cameron Smith
4:58 p.m. – Carlos Ortiz, Zach Johnson, Lanto Griffin
5:09 p.m. – Sam Burns, Chan Kim, Thomas Detry
5:20 p.m. – (a) Ollie Osborne, Peter Malnati, Brian Stuard
5:31 p.m. – John Huh, Johannes Veerman, Zack Sucher
5:42 p.m. – Rick Lamb, Michael Johnson, Carson Schaake

No. 10

9:45 a.m. – Andy Pope, Brad Kennedy, Thomas Aiken
9:56 a.m. – Yosuke Asaji, Marcus Armitage, Jhonattan Vegas
10:07 a.m. – Cameron Young, Wilco Nienaber, Guido Migliozzi
10:18 a.m. – Brian Harman, Tommy Fleetwood, Matthew Wolff
10:29 a.m. – Collin Morikawa, Justin Thomas, Brooks Koepka
10:40 a.m. – Kevin Kisner, Billy Horschel, Matt Kuchar
10:51 a.m. – Max Homa, Xander Schauffele, Phil Mickelson
11:02 a.m. – Jason Kokrak, Cameron Champ, Corey Conners
11:13 a.m. – Paul Barjon, Sam Ryder, Ryo Ishikawa
11:24 a.m. – Dylan Frittelli, Martin Laird, K.H. Lee
11:35 a.m. – Rafa Cabrera Bello, Adrian Meronk, Sung Kang
11:46 a.m. – Akshay Bhatia, (a) Andrew Kozan, Alvaro Ortiz
11:57 a.m. – James Hervol, Hayden Springer, Roy Cootes
3:30 p.m. – David Coupland, Taylor Pendrith, Wade Ormsby
3:41 p.m.  – Tom Hoge, Bo Hoag, (a) Joe Highsmith
3:52 p.m. – Erik van Rooyen, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Charl Schwartzel
4:03 p.m. – Garrick Higgo, (a) Cole Hammer, Joaquin Niemann
4:14 p.m. – Lee Westwood, Stewart Cink, Paul Casey
4:25 p.m. – Will Zalatoris, Scottie Scheffler, Jordan Spieth
4:36 p.m. – Marc Leishman, Jon Rahm, Patrick Reed,
4:47 p.m. – Patrick Cantlay, Louis Oosthuizen, Sungjae Im
4:58 p.m. – Kevin Streelman, Branden Grace, Charley Hoffman
5:09 p.m. – Sebastian Munoz, Rikuya Hoshino, Brendon Todd
5:20 p.m. – Wyndham Clark, (a) Matthias Schmid, Matthew Southgate
5:31 p.m. – (a) Spencer Ralston, Dylan Wu, Justin Suh
5:42 p.m. – Luis Gagne, Kyle Westmoreland, Christopher Crawford

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.