17.2 C
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
- Advertisement -

GUI name Irish Seniors Close trophy in honour of Maurice Kelly

Must read

You Give Love a Bad Name*

When passion boils over into anger, there's no excuse for taking your rage out on the golf course. Sadly, that's exactly what happened on the 17th green at North West GC recently

Hazeltine memories highlight the fervour and fanaticism of US supporters

Another year to wait but much to ponder in the interim; a Ryder Cup in America is no place for the fainthearted, be they European players or fans

Fast & Fascinating facts

More tidbits from around the world of golf including the one time Masters champ who not only correctly predicted his win but also his aggregate score

Cursed in Foxford and Puerto Rico

Some curses seem harder to break than others, whether you're a Mayo footballer chasing an All-Ireland title or a Puerto Rico champion sentenced to PGA Tour doom

The winner of this year’s Irish Seniors Close Championship will receive the Maurice Kelly Trophy following a decision by the Golfing Union of Ireland to name the trophy after the five-time champion, who passed away on 28 December last year.

Kelly won the last of his five Close titles at Enniscrone in 2018. He was a prolific winner throughout his Seniors career and won the inaugural Close championship in 2009. At international level, Kelly played 99 times with Ireland. The Naas clubman, who also played out of Killeen during his international career, made his Ireland debut in 2005. A stalwart of many teams in green, Kelly enjoyed success at both the Seniors Home Internationals and European Seniors Team Championships multiple times.

Mark Wehrly, Championships Manager of the GUI, said: “Maurice Kelly was such a great competitor and it is only fitting that the Union has honoured his memory by putting his name on the Irish Seniors Close trophy. Maurice lifted this title a staggering five times. He was universally respected by his peers and we know this trophy will now be contested even more fiercely as a result.”

The Irish Seniors Close Championship, now 10 years old, was first staged in 2009 at Roscommon. That first championship was won by Maurice Kelly and he retained his title the following year at Blainroe. Kelly triumphed again in 2014, at Tullamore, and in 2015, at Grange.

Kilkenny Golf Club will host this year’s championship from 3 to 5 July. Played over 54 holes, the championship is open to male players over 50 years of age.


New Gear

Looks like a Mallet, Feels like a Blade, Forgives like a Spider

TaylorMade’s latest short-stick, the Spider FCG boasts a forward centre of gravity designed for golfers seeking the forgiveness of a mallet with the feel of a blade

TaylorMade dial it in even further with new iron additions

TaylorMade fans rejoice as the company announces additions to the Series of P700 Irons with the all-new P7MB, P7MC and P770 offerings

Special edition Tiger wedge added to Taylormade’s MG2 line-up

TaylorMade Golf Company has lifted the curtain on a limited edition Tiger Woods wedge; a club milled for precision and played by a champion

Versatility comes easy with TaylorMade’s new utility irons

The latest SIM UDI and SIM DHY deliver a new level of versatility to TaylorMade’s utility irons category sure to improve any player's game


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Murphy hits the front at Irish Boys

Sam Murphy from Portumna will take a two stroke lead into the final round of the Irish Boys Championship at Thurles Golf Club on  Wednesday

Glasson primed to tackle the challenges presented by Covid-19

Director of Golf at Glasson, Lynn McCool is remaining extremely upbeat as their two-year development plan unfolds at the club

O’Briain delighted with 64 after cruising to Cork Pro-Am win

Neil O’Briain gave everyone a reminder of his undisputed talent by firing an eight-under par round of 64 to claim the latest PGA Ireland Pro-Am at Cork Golf Club

McGinley insists it’s too soon to compare Morikawa to Woods

"Let's not jump to any conclusions that this is the new Tiger Woods though, and that he is going to run off and win 15, 16 major championships. Let's give him a bit of time"

Presidents Cup to return to Royal Montreal in 2024

Royal Montreal will become only the second international venue to host the Presidents Cup more than once, joining Australia's Royal Melbourne. Have you played either track?