Power among those confirmed for Royal Liverpool via OWGR exemptions


Seamus Power (Photo by Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

The R&A has confirmed the players that are now exempt into The 151st Open at Royal Liverpool through the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) with Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Seamus Power all among them.

Three players who previously earned places in The 151st Open through qualifying events are now exempt under this category – Kurt Kitayama and Harris English (Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard) and Wyndham Clark (Wells Fargo Championship).

These places have now been awarded to the next non-exempt golfers following a change to this year’s qualifying criteria which states that any golfer earning a qualifying place who then becomes exempt under one or more categories before the closing date of entries on 1 June will result in that place being awarded to the next non-exempt golfer.


Trey Mullinax and Ben Griffin have qualified for The Open through their performances in the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard, as well as Brendon Todd in the Wells Fargo Championship.

This week, the leading three players not already exempt who make the cut in the Memorial Tournament presented by Workday will earn places in The 151st Open at Royal Liverpool.

The Memorial Tournament presented by Workday is the seventh event in The Open Qualifying Series and will be played from 1-4 June at Muirfield Village.

Players in the field at the Memorial Tournament presented by Workday who are already exempt for The 151st Open are:

Christiaan Bezuidenhout Ryan Fox Sungjae Im Rory McIlroy Scottie Scheffler
Keegan Bradley Ben Griffin Zach Johnson David Micheluzzi Adam Scott
Sam Burns Emiliano Grillo Si Woo Kim Francesco Molinari Jordan Spieth
Patrick Cantlay Brian Harman Tom Kim Collin Morikawa Scott Stallings
Stewart Cink Tyrrell Hatton Chris Kirk Trey Mullinax Sepp Straka
Wyndham Clark Russell Henley Kurt Kitayama Alex Noren Sahith Theegala
Corey Conners Lucas Herbert Thriston Lawrence JT Poston Justin Thomas
Jason Day Kazuki Higa KH Lee Seamus Power Brendon Todd
Harris English Tom Hoge Shane Lowry Jon Rahm Danny Willett
Matt Fitzpatrick Billy Horschel Hideki Matsuyama Davis Riley Gary Woodland
Rickie Fowler Viktor Hovland Denny McCarthy Xander Schauffele Cameron Young

In the event of a tie for a qualifying place, the player with the higher ranking in the OWGR at the beginning of the week commencing 29 May will be awarded a place in The 151st Open.

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.