McIlroy drawn with Bradley while Lowry and Power handed tricky groups

Ronan MacNamara

Rory McIlroy (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Seamus Power have learned their fate after the brackets for the WGC Dell Technologies Match Play were announced on Monday afternoon.

64 players were drawn into sixteen groups of four with the leading player in each group advancing into the weekend’s last-16.

Third seed McIlroy has received a favourable group on paper having been drawn alongside Keegan Bradley(20) in what will be a repeat of their 2012 Ryder Cup battle, Denny McCarthy (48) and Scott Stallings (52).


2019 Open champion Lowry(21) has been handed a difficult bracket with in-form Jordan Spieth (12), the impressive Taylor Montgomery (47) and already a winner this season, Mackenzie Hughes (50) of Canada.

Waterford’s Power (30) is the second seed in his group with Sam Burns (13) topping the bracket after a top-6 finish at the Valspar Championship last week. 2013 Masters champion Adam Scott (33) and Canada’s Adam Hadwin (53) make up an intriguing bracket.

Last year’s winner Scottie Scheffler holds the No.1 seed in Austin and he will defend his title against Tom Kim (17), Sweden’s Alex Noren (38) and Davis Riley (54).

Three-time winner this year Jon Rahm (2) will face a difficult task against 2021 champion Billy Horschel (22), Keith Mitchell (39) and a resurgent Rickie Fowler (49).

McIlroy is a past champion having beaten Gary Woodland in the 2015 decider. Lowry’s best run in this event came on debut in 2013 when he progressed to the last-16 while Power impressed en route to the quarter-final on his first appearance last year.

Groups in full:

Group: 1

Scottie Scheffler (1)

Tom Kim (17),

Alex Noren (38)

Davis Riley (54)

Group: 2

Jon Rahm (2)

Billy Horschel (22)

Keith Mitchell, (39)

Rickie Fowler (49)

Group: 3

Rory McIlroy (3)

Keegan Bradley (20)

Denny McCarthy (48)

Scott Stallings (52)

Group: 4

Patrick Cantlay (4)

Brian Harman (25)

K.H. Lee (35)

Nick Taylor (55)

Group: 5

Max Homa (5)

Hideki Matsuyama (18)

Kevin Kisner (42)

Justin Suh (63)

Group: 6

Xander Schauffele (6)

Tom Hoge (23)

Aaron Wise (40)

Cam Davis (64)

Group: 7

Will Zalatoris (7)

Ryan Fox (29)

Harris English (37)

Andrew Putnam (56)

Group: 8

Viktor Hovland (8)

Chris Kirk (28)

Si Woo Kim (34)

Matt Kuchar (59)

Group: 9

Collin Morikawa (9)

Jason Day (32)

Adam Svensson (44)

Victor Perez (51)

Group: 10

Tony Finau (10)

Kurt Kitayama (19)

Adrian Meronk (45)

Christiaan Bezuidenhout (60)

Group: 11

Matt Fitzpatrick (11)

Sahith Theegala (26)

Min Woo Lee (41)

J.J. Spaun (61)

Group: 12

Jordan Spieth (12)

Shane Lowry (21)

Taylor Montgomery (47)

Mackenzie Hughes (50)

Group: 13

Sam Burns (13)

Seamus Power (30)

Adam Scott (33)

Adam Hadwin (53)

Group: 14

Tyrrell Hatton (14)

Russell Henley (31)

Lucas Herbert (46)

Ben Griffin (62)

Group: 15

Cameron Young (15)

Sepp Straka (27)

Corey Conners (36)

Davis Thompson (57)

Group: 16

Sungjae Im (16)

Tommy Fleetwood (24)

J.T. Poston (43)

Maverick McNealy (58)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.