2024 Women’s and Men’s High Performance Squads Announced


The Ireland men's team who picked a bronze at the European Amateur Team Championships.


Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

Golf Ireland has today confirmed that 20 players will form the 2024 Women’s and Men’s High Performance squads.

Nine women and eleven men have been selected, and they will form the backbone of Ireland’s international squads for next year.

Women’s Bridgestone Order of Merit winner Emma Fleming (Elm Park) will be joined by 2023 AIG Irish Women’s Close winner Sara Byrne (Douglas) in the women’s setup. Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle), Áine Donegan (Lahinch), Anna Foster (Elm Park), Kate Lanigan (Hermitage), Jessica Ross (Clandeboye), Mairead Martin (Kanturk) and Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) were also selected.

There is no place for Clandeboye starlet Rebekah Gardner who picked up her first top-10 on the US collegiate circuit last week while Lahinch stalwart Aideen Walsh also won’t be involved next year.

Meanwhile, it’s all change for the Men’s High Performance Panel with Alex Maguire and Robert Moran not involved as they eye careers in the pro ranks while Peter O’Keeffe and South of Ireland winner Colm Campbell have also not been selected.

Men’s Bridgestone Order of Merit winner David Shiel (Enniscrone), was selected alongside Junior Ryder Cup star Sean Keeling (Roganstown), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), Matt McClean (Malone), Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin), Liam Nolan (Galway), Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin), Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy), Luke O’Neill (Connemara), Jack Hearn (Tramore) and Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) in the men’s squad.

Golf Ireland High Performance Director, Neil Manchip, said he is looking forward to another successful year in 2024.

“It has been another really promising year with some outstanding team and individual performances dotted throughout the season,” said Manchip.

“Picking up a bronze medal in the European Team Championships was a huge achievement for our men’s team led by Niall MacSweeney, with four of those going on to Walker Cup selection, while Alex Maguire picked up the R&A Amateur Series.

“Both the men and women performed admirably in the roasting temperatures of Abu Dhabi at the World Amateur Team Championships and there were some great individual displays from our players in major championships including The Open, The Masters, US Open and US Women’s Open.

“Sara Byrne picked up the silver medal at the KPMG Women’s Irish Open and has continued her great form of late, and no doubt she will be one of our players targeting a Curtis Cup place when it goes to Sunningdale at the tail end of the season.

“We are really excited heading into 2024 and our players are looking forward to another great campaign. We cannot wait to see them out competing again in the New Year.”


Women’s HP

Beth Coulter          (Kirkistown Castle)                       

Áine Donegan          (Lahinch)

Anna Foster                    (Elm Park)

Sara Byrne                     (Douglas)

Kate Lanigan           (Hermitage)                   

Emma Fleming             (Elm Park)

Jessica Ross                  (Clandeboye)

Mairead Martin       (Kanturk)

Annabel Wilson        (Lurgan)

Team Captain: Naoimh Quigg (City of Derry)


Men’s HP                            

Caolan Rafferty       (Dundalk)                     

Matt McClean              (Malone)

Max Kennedy               (Royal Dublin)

Liam Nolan                    (Galway)

Hugh Foley                     (Royal Dublin)

Paul Conroy           (Enniscorthy)

Sean Keeling                 (Roganstown)

Luke O’Neill                  (Connemara)

Jack Hearn               (Tramore)                     

Jack McDonnell       (Forrest Little)

David Shiel                        (Enniscrone)

Team Captain: Niall MacSweeney (Athenry)



Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.