Irish Quintet named in initial Walker Cup squad

Conor Purcell / Image from Pat Cashman Photography

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The R&A has announced five Irish players as part of an initial squad of 26 who are in contention for selection for the Great Britain and Ireland team to play against the United States of America in the 47th Walker Cup match at Royal Liverpool.

Conor Purcell, who won the 2019 Australian Amateur Championship, is among the five to feature in captain, Craig Watson’s squad. He is joined by 2019 West of Ireland Amateur champion Caolan Rafferty, 2018 Eisenhower Trophy player John Murphy, Kilkenny’s Mark Power and Mallow’s James Sugrue.

The biennial encounter will be played on Saturday 7 and Sunday 8 September with GB&I aiming to win back the trophy after losing 19-7 at the Los Angeles Country Club two years ago.

Craig Watson, GB&I captain, said, “We have selected a talented group of players who are all in contention for a place in the team to play the United States of America and will be continuing to monitor the form and results of these players over the course of the season.

“We will also be looking closely at the performances of other players who have not been included in the squad and there is still time for them to play their way into our plans ahead of the final team selection later this year.”

2018 R&A Boys Amateur champion, Conor Gough, leads a strong contingent of 12 players from England included in the squad. Six players from Scotland have been chosen, including 2019 African Amateur champion, Euan Walker and reigning Scottish Amateur champion, Euan McIntosh while 2018 Irish Boys Amateur champion Archie Davies, Ben Chamberlain and Jake Hapgood are the three players from Wales.

The squad will gather at Royal Liverpool for a practice session next week, after which the number of players will be reduced for a second practice session in July. The final ten-man GB&I team will be announced in August.

The players selected for the GB&I squad are:

Jake Burnage, Saunton, 23 John Murphy, Kinsale, 20
Kieran Cantley, Liberton, 21 Joseph Pagdin, Lake Nona, 17
Ben Chamberlain, Padeswood & Buckley, 21 Thomas Plumb, Yeovil, 20
Archie Davies, Carlisle, 17 Mark Power, Kilkenny, 18
Alex Fitzpatrick, Hallamshire, 20 Conor Purcell, Portmarnock, 21
Bailey Gill, Lindrick, 21 Caolan Rafferty, Dundalk, 26
Conor Gough, Stoke Park, 16 Sandy Scott, Nairn, 20
David Hague, Malton & Norton, 22 Tom Sloman, Taunton & Pickeridge, 22
Harry Hall, West Cornwall, 21 Jamie Stewart, Old Course Ranfurly, 19
Jake Hapgood, Southerndown, 22 James Sugrue, Mallow, 22
Benjamin Jones, Northamptonshire County, 19 Tom Thurloway, Chartham Park, 21
Ryan Lumsden, Royal Wimbledon, 22 Euan Walker, Kilmarnock (Barassie), 23
Euan McIntosh, Turnhouse, 50 Robin Williams, Peterborough Milton, 17


Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.