Five-time DPWT No. 1 Rory McIlroy inspired to now match Monty’s record-setting eight money list titles

Bernie McGuire

Rory McIlroy (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)

Bernie McGuire

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

Newly-crowned five-time DP World Tour No. 1 Rory McIlroy has set his sights on matching Scot Colin Montgomerie’s record of eight Tour Order of Merit titles.
This after McIlroy sealed success in the year’s Race to Dubai, without hitting a shot in the 2023 curtain closing DP World Tour final starting Thursday at Jumeirah Estates.
The DP World Tour advised in media ‘victory’ briefing notes ahead of the conclusion to today’s Nedbank Challenge that McIlroy will be the 2023 Tour No. 1 as none of those in contention over final round at Sun City would earn enough money on the rankings to deny McIlroy the title.
McIlroy, who has not played since the Ryder Cup, has accumulated 5164 DPWT ranking points which is 2083 points more than the current second ranked and reigning Masters champion Jon Rahm, with Rahm choosing not to travel to South Africa.
As 2,000 ranking points are awarded to the winner next Sunday, not even Rahm, if he were to be successful in defending his Dubai title, could overtake McIlroy.
McIlroy of his delight in winning a fifth R2D title saying: “Winning the Race to Dubai title for the fifth time is an incredible honour and another important milestone in my career.

“Capturing the Ryder Cup in Rome was a highlight this year and adding this title makes it all the more special”.

And McIlroy’s well up to par knowing that there now is the real possibility of breaking Monty’s awesome record.

McIlroy said:  “I still have distance to cover to reach Colin’s tally in the order of merit.

“Though it does inspire me to give it my best in the upcoming years”.

Monty was unbeatable for seven years running, winning the then named European Tour Order of Merit from 1993 to 1999 inclusive, and then reigned supreme six years later in 2005.

McIlroy’s DP World Tour year has been highlighted by wins at the Hero Dubai Desert Classic and Genesis Scottish along with second at the US Open and third at the WGC – Dell Match-Play Championship while competing in nine Tour counting events.

McIlroy first captured the Race to Dubai title in 2012 and finished No. 1 again in 2014, 2015 and last year.

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.