Shiel sets sights on Interpro success

Ronan MacNamara

David Shiel is in line for another strong showing at Moyvalley. Photo: Fran Caffrey / Golffile.

Ireland international David Shiel wants to continue his brilliant season and help Connacht claim the Men’s Interprovincial Championship at Moyvalley Golf Club this week.

The Enniscrone golfer will make his interpros debut alongside Aodhagan Brady (Co Sligo), Tom Cafferky (Ballinasloe), Harry Gillivan (Portmarnock), David Kitt (Athenry), Charlie Mooney (Ballinasloe), Ruairi O’Connor (Co Sligo) and Simon Walker (Roscommon).

And the Bridgestone Order of Merit leader, who also represented Ireland for the first time at Home Internationals this year, is excited about the potential of the week.


“It’s not something I’ve played before myself actually so can’t wait to do that but I caddied in the interpros in Enniscrone when I was 12 so I’ve been around it,” said Shiel.

Connacht were last crowned winners in this championship in 2021 and Shiel knows consistency will be key if they stand a chance of replicating that success in a long week at Moyvalley this time around.

“Any of the lads that have played with me in the 36-holer will know the strategy which is definitely try and keep it consistent,” said Shiel.

“I prepare all my own food and I’ll have my omelette in the morning round on the course and I’ll have my lunch box for the afternoon round so I try and just manage the energy that’s something that I learned playing football through the 90 minutes you’ve got to manage your energy.

“You have to pace yourself for 36 holes. You don’t even get too emotionally high or low because if something bad happens on the third or fourth hole in the first round, you’ve got a lot of golf to play after that, so you’ve just got to park it and move on.

“Mindset and energy it’s so important, it’s often really overlooked in golf of how much energy you need, you are going out for big walks. You’re doing that twice a day. You’ve got to manage both your emotional and physical energy levels because otherwise either could catch up with you.

“For me it’s about trying to focus a lot of attention on any of those margins, how can I remove a variable as I would talk about, so that’s why I concentrate very closely on what I consume over the course of the day to keep my energy levels consistent.”


Connacht Men’s 

Aodhagan Brady (Co. Sligo)

Tom Cafferky (Ballinasloe)

Harry Gillivan (Portmarnock)

David Kitt (Athenry)

Charlie Mooney (Ballinasloe)

Ruairi O’Connor (Co. Sligo)

David Shiel (Enniscrone)

Simon Walker (Roscommon)


Captain – Damien Coyne (Tuam)

Manager – Cathal McConn (Roscommon)


Connacht Women’s 

Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)

Vicki Conlon (Enniscrone)

Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna)

Annabel Greham (Ballina)?

Ellen Lonergan (Westport)

Meabh McLoughlin (Co Sligo)

Emma Morrow (Galway Bay)


Captain – Anne Fahy (Portumna)

Manager – Clodagh Hopkins (Woodbrook)


Leinster Men’s 

Marc Boucher (Carton House)

Robert Brazill (Naas)

Quentin Carew (Castleknock)

Paul Coughlan (Castleknock)

Evan Farrell (Co. Louth)

Keith Egan (Carton House)

Eoin Murphy (Dundalk)

Brandon St John (Portmarnock)


Captain – Harry McAlinden (Bray)

Manager – Michael Maher (Luttrellstown Castle).


Leinster Women’s 

Anna Abom (Edmondstown)

Jan Browne (Kilkenny)

Mary Dowling (New Ross)

Jenny Maguire (Foxrock)

Rachel McDonnell (Elm Park)

Ellen O’Gorman (Laytown & Bettystown)

Ellen O’Shaughnessy (Co. Louth)


Captain – Una Marsden (Tullamore)

Manager – Orla Darcy (Naas)


Munster Men’s 

Jordan Boles (Charleville)

Donnacha Cleary (Tipperary)

Darragh Flynn (Carton House)

Mark Gazi (Tralee)

Conor Hickey (Dooks)

Alex King (Faithlegg)

Darren O’Sullivan (Tralee)

David Reddan (Nenagh)


Captain – Juan Fitzgerald (Limerick)

Manager – Shane Horgan (Monkstown)


Munster Women’s 

Valerie Clancy (Killarney)

Clodagh Coughlan (Douglas)

Lauren Kelly (Ballykisteen)

Mairead Martin (Kanturk)

Karen O’Neill (Douglas)

Caitlin Shippam (Ballykisteen)

Paula Walsh (Doneraile)


Captain – Mary Dowling (Mallow)

Manager – Sinead Enright (Macroom)


Ulster Men’s 

Fionn Dobbin (Malone)

Lewis Gowdy (Bangor)

Cian Harkin (Letterkenny)

James Hewitt (Tandragee)

Darcy Hogg (Belvoir Park)

Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle)

Shane McDermott (Slieve Russell)

Rory Williamson (Holywood)


Captain – Rory Leonard (Banbridge)

Manager – Peter Waddell (Knock)


Ulster Women’s 

Judithe Allen (Royal Portrush)

Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)

Amy Kelly (Massereene)

Hannah Lee McNamara (Royal Portrush)

Gemma McMeekin (Royal Portrush)

Amy O’Donnell (Royal Portrush)

Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)


Captain – Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush)

Manager – Laura Webb (Royal Portrush)


Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.