Foley officially confirmed as Men’s Bridgestone Order of Merit champion

Hugh Foley winner of the Bridgestone Tour 2022 during the AIG Irish Men's Amateur Close Championship 2022 at Headfort Picture: Thos Caffrey / Golffile

Hugh Foley is the 2022 Men’s Bridgestone Tour Order of Merit winner. The Royal Dublin golfer topped the standings after finishing in second place at the AIG Irish Men’s Amateur Close.

Foley’s performance in Headfort followed on from brilliant wins at the North of Ireland Championship and South of Ireland Championship. He finished on 1,168 points, surpassing the 1,073 won by Peter O’Keeffe in claiming the title last year.

“You always want to be pushing to do well in these events,” said Foley. “I think it is a good marker of playing in Ireland and being No 1 in Ireland. So in my tournaments in Ireland I have been No 1 in Ireland so that speaks for itself in terms of recent ongoings so I am happy with that.” 


Matt McClean finished in second place, after runner-up finishes at the North of Ireland and the Flogas Irish Men’s Amateur Open.

Rob Brazill finished in third place. The 2019 winner had a brilliant comeback season from injury, that included a win at the Connacht Men’s Stroke Play, and a runner-up finish in the Ulster Men’s and Women’s Stroke Play.

Colm Campbell finished in fourth place, after winning the Flogas Irish Men’s Amateur Open for a second time. Jack McDonnell completed the top-five after a season that included a T2 finish at the East of Ireland, and a T4 at the North of Ireland.

AIG Irish Men’s Amateur Close champion Quentin Carew was not even in the rankings before the final event, but his historic performance saw him leap up to 39th place.

Overall, 169 players earned points over the ten ranking events in the season.

Men’s Bridgestone Tour Rankings
1. Hugh Foley – 1168
2. Matthew McClean – 953
3. Rob Brazill – 798
4. Colm Campbell – 784
5. Jack McDonnell – 772
6. Richard Knightly – 744
7. Peter O’Keeffe -719
8. Jake Whelan – 691
9. Liam Nolan – 665
10. Joshua Hill – 652

2022 Men’s Bridgestone Tour
15-19 April: West of Ireland Championship – Co. Sligo (won by Alan Fahy)
30 April-1 May: Munster Men’s Stroke Play – Cork (won by Jake Whelan)
12-15 May: Flogas Irish Men’s Amateur Open – The Island (won by Colm Campbell)
30-31 May: Ulster Men’s and Women’s Stroke Play – Belvoir Park (won by Jack Hearn)
4-6 June: East of Ireland Championship – Co. Louth (won by Alex Maguire)
11-12 June: Connacht Men’s Stroke Play – Portumna (won by Rob Brazill)
13-15 July: North of Ireland Championship – Royal Portrush (won by Hugh Foley)
20-24 July: South of Ireland Championship – Lahinch (won by Hugh Foley)
31 July-1 August: Mullingar Scratch Cup – Mullingar (won by Joshua Hill)
13-17 August: AIG Irish Men’s Amateur Close – Headfort (won by Quentin Carew)

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.