Lowry and Power handed strong draws for first two days at Open


Seamus Power (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Both Shane Lowry and Séamus Power will be in high-quality company for the first two rounds of the Open Championship after the draw was made on Tuesday afternoon.

2019 Champion Lowry is drawn alongside reigning PGA Championship winner Justin Thomas and Viktor Hovland at 10.09am on Thursday as the Clara golfer looks to end what’s fast approaching a three-year winless drought.

Power has already proven himself a Major player and is part of another star-studded three-ball with Brooks Koepka and Cameron Smith at 8.03am on Thursday as he makes his Open Championship debut at the Home of Golf.

All eyes will be on Tiger Woods over the first two days in St Andrews and it will be US Open champion Matt Fitzpatrick and Max Homa who will have the best seat in the house to follow Woods’ progress after being drawn to compete with the 15-time Major winner.

2014 Champion Rory McIlroy returns to St Andrews after missing out through injury in 2015 alongside arguably the world’s in-form golfer, Xander Schauffele and defending champion Collin Morikawa. They’re off at 9.58am on Thursday.

Twice Champion Golfer of the Year Pádraig Harrington plays alongside Thomas Pieters and Keith Mitchell for the first two days, starting at 2.48pm Thursday.

And after coming through final qualifying, David Carey tees up with John Catlin and Jamie Rutherford at 3.54pm while Galway’s Ronan Mullarney is last off alongside Jack Floydd and Lars Van Meijel at 4.16pm.

  • Full tee-times HERE

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.