Another Major rules infringement called by an armchair warrior


Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

In what can only be described an one of the strangest finishes to a Major, Lexi Thompson was left wondering what might have been. 

It was the influence of an email from an armchair warrior to the LPGA which made the difference at the first women’s Major of the season the ANA Inspiration at Mission Hills Country Club. It came after the third round of the event where the viewer spotted that Lexi Thompson had incorrectly marked her ball on the 17th green as she failed to return it back to its original position before making her stroke. 
After reviewing the television footage, Thompson was hit with a two stroke penalty for marking her ball incorrectly and a further two stroke penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard. Thomson was only informed of the decision when she was playing the 13th hole on Sunday and at that point she had a two stroke lead.
Visibly upset and very shaken at the news, Thompson had to continue with her final round and to her credit she birdied two of the next three holes and just missed an eagle on 18 which would have won her the tournament in regulation play.
However, it went to a play-off between Thompson and So Yeon Ryu with Ryu winning on the first play-off hole ending the event on a definite sour note. Ever the professional, Thompson was out signing autographs for fans after the event and no doubt she’ll be back in the winners enclosure again soon.

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.