GUI confirm teams for European Nations & Lytham Trophy

Bernie McGuire

Robin Dawson, Alex Gleeson and Caolan Rafferty have been selected by the Golfing Union of Ireland for both the European Nations Cup at Sotogrande in April and the Lytham Trophy in May. The fourth member of the European Nations Cup team will be Jonathan Yates.

The Irish quartet will be looking to recapture the title last won at La Reserva in 2016 when Jack Hume also scooped the individual title and this year’s event takes place at Sotogrande from 18-21 April. Ireland were runners-up last year while Dawson was second in the individual event.

Mark Power, Tiarnan McLarnon and Ronan Mullarney join Dawson, Gleeson and Rafferty for the Lytham Trophy at Royal Lytham & St. Annes from 4-6 May. Previous Irish winners of the Lytham Trophy include Tom Craddock (1969), Martin Sludds (1982) and Paul Cutler (2009).

The Irish Team Captain is John Carroll (Bandon) who will accompany both selections.

European Nations Cup Team, Sotogrande, 18-21 April:
Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), Jonathan Yates (Naas).
Team Manager is John White (Co Armagh)

Lytham Trophy at Royal Lytham & St. Annes, 4-6 May:
Robin Dawson (Tramore), Alex Gleeson (Castle), Mark Power (Kilkenny), Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk).
Team Manager is Niall MacSweeney (Athenry).

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.