Record field set for this week’s season opener in Hawaii

Bernie McGuire

Dustin Johnson plays his stroke from the No.4 tee during Round 4 of the Masters at Augusta National

Bernie McGuire

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

World No.1 and reigning Masters champion Dustin Johnson will lead a record field of 42 starters for this week’s first PGA Tour event of 2021 – the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Hawaii.

The event was founded in 1953 but since 1999 has been played on the Plantation Course at Kapalua on the island of Maui. It is traditionally the PGA TOUR’s winners-only event where players qualify courtesy of their victories during the previous calendar year, however, an additional eligibility criteria was created for the 2021 event only due to the Tour’s changes to the schedule as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It means the Kapalua tournament has opened its doors to players who reached last season’s Tour Championship as well as event winners after a season disrupted by a two-month Covid-19 layoff.

‘DJ’ captured his second major title in November at the Masters just a handful of months after winning the Tour Championship in September. And the now 36-year-old is no stranger to success in Hawaii having won the event in 2013 and 2018.

Joining him is fellow 2020 Major winner Bryson DeChambeau, winner of the U.S. Open along with PGA Champion, Collin Morikawa but missing from the no-cut event is World No. 4 Rory McIlroy and England’s Tyrrell Hatton. McIlroy did not win in 2020 but he had earned his place, had he chosen to tee-up, by virtue of qualifying for the Tour Championship while Hatton brilliantly captured the 2020 Arnold Palmer Invitational.

Also skipping the Hawaii event is American Jim Herman with the World No. 96, who won last year’s Wyndham Championship, a withdrawal after contracting coronavirus.

THE SENTRY FIELD – Current Tournament Winners

  • Daniel Berger
  • Patrick Cantlay
  • Stewart Cink
  • Bryson DeChambeau
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Brian Gay
  • Viktor Hovland
  • Sungjae Im
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Jason Kokrak
  • Martin Laird
  • Andrew Landry
  • Marc Leishman
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Carlos Ortiz
  • Jon Rahm
  • Patrick Reed
  • Adam Scott
  • Webb Simpson
  • Cameron Smith
  • Robert Streb
  • Hudson Swafford
  • Nick Taylor
  • Justin Thomas
  • Michael Thompson
  • Richy Werenski

Top 30 on the 2019-20 FedExCup Points List

  • Xander Schauffele
  • Scottie Scheffler
  • Sebastián Muñoz
  • Harris English
  • Mackenzie Hughes
  • Hideki Matsuyama
  • Tony Finau
  • Lanto Griffin
  • Abraham Ancer
  • Brendon Todd
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Cameron Champ
  • Ryan Palmer
  • Kevin Na
  • Joaquin Niemann
  • Billy Horschel

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.