Malahide GC are simply the Best 

Irish Golfer

Malahide Best Cup Winning team (names below). Back Row: Dermot Nolan, Pat McBride, Derek Mooney, Denis Ryan, Oliver Sheedy, Brian Falvey, Con Grogan, Brendan T Murphy, Gary Campbell, Tony O’Dowd Front Row: Glenn Troy, Robert Doyle, Pearse Tolan, Bill Phelan Manager, Michael A Purcell, Asst. Manager + (Missing from Photo Brian McGeough, Tommy Maher & Bryan Wallace)

Irish Golfer

Feature Interviews

Latest Stories

The 2019 Best Cup was won by Malahide GC who defeated Powerscourt GC over the 2 legs in the final. 

Malahide took a lead of 4 to 1 from their home first leg on August 11th but Powerscourt won the first four matches and when in match 5Malahide lost the 16th to go one down, it looked like Powerscourt had victory in sight.  

The Malahide pairing of Oliver Sheedy and Robert Doyle won the 17th and the 18th sending the match up the 19th in falling daylight. Robert Doyle played a superb chip from the back of the green to leave himself a short putt to award Malahide victory. 

Powerscourt Player/Manager Colman O’Neill whilst disappointed with the final result was full of praise for the tremendous golf Powerscourt played and how they had made the final the closest for a number of years.         

Malahide team manager Bill Phelan collected the pennant and trophy and was full of praise for the courtesy and welcome from all at Powerscourt GC for his team. Bill then presented Malahide Captain Brendan Ryan with the trophy. 

Malahide playing member Oliver Sheedy had previously won the Best Cup in 1996 & 2011 with Malahide GC. 

31 teams entered the Best Cup in 2019 and the format is 5 matches of 18-hole Fourball for players of handicap 19 and upwards. The Best Cup started life as the Inter-Club Rabbit’s Cup in 1961 for players of 18 handicap and over and is named after long term organiser Bertie Best and is organised by Malahide GC for participating clubs. 

Malahide GC have won the cup five times previously (1964,19781993,1996 and 2011) whilst Powerscourt who have been in Best Cup since 1997 had previous reached three finals (2000, 2014, 2015). As Powerscourt captain Billy Finn said at the Presentation Dinner with 3 finals in past 6 years their time must be near.  

Stay ahead of the game. Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest Irish Golfer news straight to your inbox!

More News

Leave a comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy & Terms of Service apply.